U.S. Women Olympic soccer team announced

U.S. Women's Olympic team

The U.S. Women Olympic soccer team was announced Tuesday.

The roster includes seven players from the 2012 team that won gold at the 2012 Olympics and 14 players from the last year’s World Cup championship team.

Here is the roster, by position:

GOALKEEPERS: Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)

DEFENDERS: Whitney Engen (Boston Breakers), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS: Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Allie Long (Portland Thorns FC), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)

FORWARDS: Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Mallory Pugh (Real Colorado)

“We’ve got a great blend of players with experience at the Olympic Games and in major events along with the youthful energy of some players who did not play in the Women’s World Cup last summer,” Ellis said. “As a coach in the Olympic Games, you want to put together a group capable of reaching the top of the podium while also being mindful of getting players prepared for the next World Cup, and I think we’ve done that.”

The U.S. will face Costa Rica, July 22 in Kansas for a final Olympic send-off match.

The team opens Olympic play Aug. 3 against New Zealand.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email