Gunfights and swordplay featured among today’s new games

Today’s new game releases include Bethesda Softworks, “Brink” a new FPS and Disney Interactive’s “Lego Pirates of the Caribbean: The Video Game.”

Brink is rated T for Teen and available for PC, PlayStation 3 and XBox 360.

Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is rated E-10+ and on sale for Nintendo DS, Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo Wii, PC, PlayStation 3, Sony PSP and XBox 360.

Also out today:

  • Dream Trigger (D3Publisher): “Arcade shooter” for Nintendo 3DS
  • MX vs. ATV  Alive (THQ) Racing title for PlayStation 3 and XBox 360.

Brink news, FPS fans can “Get Smart”

Bethesda Softworks is releasing a series of videos for their forthcoming shooter, “Brink.” The vids explain game concepts like character classes, the game’s HUD and general gameplay.

One interesting tidbit: The game will allow players to change classes in the middle of the game.

I can’t post the videos since the game is rated M for Mature, but I’m assuming everyone who can find this blog can click a link.

Brink is scheduled for a May 10 North American release for PC, PlayStation 3 and XBox 360.

 I can also post the opening sequence from the classic “Get Smart” television series. So there.

Brinksmanship: FPS gets earlier release date

Brink, an upcoming FPS under development by Splash Damage, is set to be released one week earlier than previously scheduled, the game’s publisher announced today.

The title is now scheduled for a May 10 release in North America for PC, PlayStation 3 and XBox 360.

“Production wrapped on Brink earlier
than we planned and we didn’t see any reason to keep gamers from
getting their hands on this highly anticipated game as soon as it was
ready,” said Pete Hines, marketing vice president for Bethesda Softworks, the game’s publisher.
“It’s apparent from the tremendous reaction so far that people are eager
to jump online and play, and if we can make that happen earlier – we’re
going to.”

Screaming Trees’ Mark Lanegan records song for “Rage”

Former Screaming Trees and Queens of the Stone Age singer Mark Lanegan has recorded a new song for Rage, an upcoming FPS.

The song, “Burning Down Jacob’s Ladder,”  can be streamed or downloaded on Rage’s website. Rage is an id Software/Bethesda Softworks release scheduled for a Sept. 13 release in North America for PC, PlayStation 3 and XBox 360.

In other Bethesda news, the publisher has a new video out for Brink, another shooter scheduled for May 27 release on the same three platforms. The company also announced Prey 2 for a 2012 release.

Launch dates for SOCOM 4, Elder Scrolls V and more …

You want launch dates? We got launch dates.*

  • SOCOM 4 (Zipper Interactive), April 19 for PS3.
  • Brink (Splash Damage and Bethesda Softworks), May 17 for PC, PS3 and XBox 360.
  • Hunted: The Demon’s Forge (inXile Entertainment, Bethesda Softworks), June 1 for PC, PS3 and XBox 360
  • Rage (id Software, Bethesda Softworks), Sept. 13 for PC, PS3 and XBox 360
  • Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Bethesda Game Studios), Nov. 11for PC, PS3 and XBox 360

*All launch dates are for North America. “The greatest hemisphere on earth – the Western Hemisphere, the dancin-est hemisphere of them all!”