Cary’d away to a rushmore to judgement … yes, it’s over

From ESPN’s paper-shredding dept., the follow up to such classic you-make-the-call enterprises such “Titletown USA” and “Who’s It”:


Fans have voted Illinois’ four sports greats – Michael Jordan, Walter Payton, Ernie Banks and Mike Ditka – the most impressive quartet of sports icons representing each U.S. State, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, to be chiseled on SportsCenter’s “Mt. Rushmore of Sports.” Illinois received 28.6 percent of the votes, beating out the other four finalists – Pennsylvania, California, New York and Alabama.

The five-week series, which began January 18 with fan nominations on and concluded Tuesday with the live announcement of the winning state on the 6 p.m. ET edition of SportsCenter, engaged fans with more than 300,000 entries nominating the personalities to represent the states/regions and voting online at different stages of the series. Final voting for the winner from among five finalists began Friday, Feb. 20, and ended Monday, Feb. 23.

How the fans voted:

Illinois: 28.6 percent took Michael Jordan, Walter Payton, Ernie Banks, Mike Ditka

Pennsylvania: 25.5 took Joe Paterno, Mario Lemieux, Roberto Clemente, Wilt Chamberlain

California: 17.4 took Tiger Woods, John Wooden, Magic Johnson, Jackie Robinson

New York: 15.4 took Babe Ruth, Jackie Robinson, Jim Brown, Joe Namath

Alabama: 13.1 took Hank Aaron, Bear Bryant, Bo Jackson, Willie Mays

Now is it time to play the Benny Hill theme music and move onto the next waste of time?

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email