We don’t give a spit: While awaiting the HOF decision, the IBWAA has spoken: Alomar is in (and Blyleven is already in)


The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America has selected second baseman Roberto Alomar in its second annual Hall of Fame election, organization president Howard Cole announced today.


The Base Ball Writers Association of America announce their Hall of Fame voting Wednesday, with Bert Blyleven expected to finally break through as an inductee, along with Alomar.

Alomar, who played for seven teams in a 17-year major league career, was named on 75 percent of IBWAA ballots, and was the only player to receive three-quarters of the vote, the same threshold required by the BBWAA in the election which determines the actual inductees.

With the exception of Blyleven, who the IBWAA selected last year, ballots listed the same 31 nominees as did the traditional writers association, with a December 30, 2010 deadline for votes to be valid, and no rounding up of percentages permitted for selection (i.e., a 74.85 count would not suffice).

Complete IBWAA voting:
= Roberto Alomar: 75 percent
= Jeff Bagwell: 70 percent
= Lee Smith: 65 percent
= Jack Morris: 55 percent
= Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez and Tim Raines: 50 percent
= Larry Walker: 45 percent
= Mark McGwire, Rafael Palmiero, Dale Murphy and Fred McGriff: 40 percent
= Alan Trammell: 35 percent
= Dave Parker: 25 percent
= Don Mattingly and John Franco: 20 percent
= Harold Baines: 10 percent
= Carlos Baerga, Kevin Brown, Juan Gonzalez, Lenny Harris, Al Leiter and John Olerud: 5 percent:

The IBWAA was created July 4, 2009 by Cole, editor of BaseballSavvy.com, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as an alternative to the Base Ball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA).

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email