Hello, Friends: The Pro Football Hall of Fame scrambles to redeem itself after allowing Chris Berman in last year


Jim Nantz, lead play-by-play man for CBS’ NFL coverage, has been awarded the 2011 Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award by the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, given to someone with “long-time exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.”

The 52-year-old Nantz, already in the broadcaster’s wing of the Naithsmith Basketball hall of Fame, is the youngest recipient ever of this NFL award.

He’ll be inducted on the day before the Class of 0211 ceremony on Saturday, Aug. 6.

“It’s one of the greatest honors you could ever receive in our industry,” says Nantz. “I’m grateful to the Pro Football Hall of Fame for this recognition and thrilled to be in the company of the past recipients of the Pete Rozelle Award.”

Nantz joins Dick Enberg and Curt Gowdy as the only broadcasters in both the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Past recipients of the Pete Rozelle Award:

1980s:Bill MacPhail, 1989

1990s:Lindsey Nelson, 1990; Ed Sabol, 1991; Chris Schenkel, 1992; Curt Gowdy, 1993; Pat Summerall, 1994; Frank Gifford, 1995; Jack Buck, 1996; Charlie Jones, 1997; Val Pinchbeck, 1998; Dick Enberg, 1999

2000s: Ray Scott, 2000; Roone Arledge, 2001; John Madden, 2002; Don Criqui, 2003; Van Miller, 2004; Myron Cope, 2005; Lesley Visser, 2006; Don Meredith, 2007; Dan Dierdorf, 2008; Irv Cross, 2009; Chris Berman, 2010

Still not in:
Al Michaels; Brent Musburger; David Hill; Dennis Miller.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email