Blyleven, Santo or Rizzutto could be first to make Baseball Hall as player and broadcaster


Bert Blyleven, Ron Santo and Phil Rizzutto, elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame as players by the Veterans Committee, are among the 41 finalists to win the 2013 Ford Frick Award given annually to a broadcaster.

Longtime Dodgers broadcaster Jerry Doggett and former Angels and current Padres voice Dick Enberg also made the current group, that was pared down from more than 200 candidates by fans voting.

This will be the second round in the selectin process that determine a group of three top vote-getters who will be part of the list of 10 that will be voted upon by the Hall of Fame Frick Committee.

Voting on this group takes place on the Hall’s (linked here) through Oct. 5, and the final 10 will be announced on Oct. 9. The inductee will be named at the baseball annual winter meetings in Nashville in early December.


Blyleven, whose 22-year career included the last four seasons with the Angels, was enshrined at the Hall in 2011. He has been a TV analyst with the Minnesota Twins since 1996.

Santo, who spent his entire career with the Chicago Cubs (1960-’74) except for his final season, was enshrined in 2012. He broadcast games for the Cubs from 1990 until his death in December, 2010.

Rizzutto, the New York Yankees shortstop from 1941-’42, and then from ’46-’56, was inducted in 1994. He broadcast Yankees games for 40 years, retiring in 1996. He died in 2007.

Doggett worked for the Dodgers from 1956 in Brooklyn and continues until 1987 in L.A., replaced by Don Drysdale, and always in the shadow of Vin Scully as they rotated back and forth between the TV and radio broadcast of each game. In Curt Smith’s book, “The Voices of Summer,” Doggett was ranked as No. 88 all time and has been on and off the Frick ballot since 2007. He died in 1997.

Enberg started with the Angels in 1969 and remained through 1978 before he became a national broadcaster for NBC and CBS. He returned to do some games in 1985, and for the last three seasons has been the voice of the San Diego Padres.

Aside from Blyleven, Santo, Doggett and Enberg, the final 41 consist of Joe Angel, Richie Ashburn, Alan Ashby, Lou Boudreau, Thom Brennaman, Rodger Brulotte, Joe Buck, Steve Busby, Skip Caray, Joe Castiglione, Tom Cheek, Don Chevrier, Gary Cohen, Jacques Doucet, Ed Farmer, Ray Fosse, Hank Greenwald, Tom Grieve, Tom Hamilton, Ken Harrelson, Mark Holtz, Pat Hughes, Jim Hunter, Todd Kalas, Bill King, Mike Krukow, Duane Kuiper, Eric Nadel, Joe Nuxhall, Mike Shannon, Charlie Slowes, Dwayne Staats, Steve Stone, Pete Van Wieren, Mike Wilner and Bert Wilson.

The award has been presented each year since 1978, and past winners on the voting board include Scully, Jaime Jarrin, Joe Garagiola, Tim McCarver, Marty Brennaman and Jerry Coleman.

You want our top three from this list? Greenwald, King and Van Wieren. Any one of those three would be a fine choice.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email