IBWAA says: Trout’s MVP status a cut below Cabrera’s

The Associated Press

Mike Trout, AL Rookie of the Year? Of course.

Trout, AL MVP? Not here.

If the debate over whether it would be “new school” vs. “old school” in determining who had the better year in the American League, maybe the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America isn’t such an automatic given as being the former over the later.

The IBWAA announced Monday that its voting members selected Detroit’s Miguel Cabrera, who reached the Triple Crown for the first time in the last 45 years, as the league’s Most Valuable Players. The Angels’ Trout finished second.

In the National League, San Francisco’s Buster Posey was voted MVP, ahead of Milwaukee’s Ryan Braun.

In results announced earlier, Tampa Bay’s David Price and the New York Mets’ R.A. Dickey were voted the AL and NL Cy Young Award winners, Trout and Washington’s Bryce Harper were the AL and NL rookies of the year, and Baltimore’s Buck Showalter and Washington’s Davey Johnson were the AL and NL managers of the year.

The IBWAA was established 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of BaseballSavvy.com, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the BBWAA, whose awards in the same categories will be announced over a period of time starting Monday, Nov. 12, with many of the votes expected to fall in line with the IBWAA selections.

Or will they? For the first time in history, the BBWAA will announce their five finalists in each league for the MVP Award and the three AL and NL finalists for the Cy Young, Manager of the Year and Rookie of the Year awards. That will come on the MLB Network at 3 p.m. Wednesday.

In both cases the IBWAA and BBWAA voting took place before the playoffs began.

IBWAA members include Barry Bloom, MLB.com; Tim Brown, Yahoo Sports; Fred Claire, former Dodgers GM; Joe McDonnell, FoxSportsWest.com; Ramona Shelburne, ESPNLA.com; the Daily News’ J.P. Hoornstra and Jill Painter, the L.A. Times’ Kevin Baxter and prominent baseball authors Paul Dickson, Peter Golenbock, Josh Pahigian and Dan Schlossberg.

And yes, me as well.

The complete voting rundown for each category:


1st Place:  Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
2nd Place: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
3rd Place: Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers
4th Place: Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers
5th Place: Robinson Cano, New York Yankees
6th Place: Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles
7th Place: Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers
8th Place: Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers
9th Place: Edwin Encarnación, Toronto Blue Jays
10th Place: Derek Jeter, New York Yankees


1st Place:  Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants
2nd Place: Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
3rd Place: Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
4th Place: Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
5th Place: Chase Headley, San Diego Padres
6th Place: David Wright, New York Mets
7th Place: Adam LaRoche, Washington Nationals
8th Place: Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds
9th Place: Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds
10th Place: Matt Holliday, St. Louis Cardinals

AL Cy Young:

1st Place: David Price, Tampa Bay Rays
2nd Place: Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers
3rd Place: Jered Weaver, Los Angeles of Anaheim
4th Place: Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners
5th Place: Chris Sale, Chicago White Sox

NL Cy Young

1st Place: R.A. Dickey, New York Mets
2nd Place: Gio Gonzalez, Washington Nationals
3rd Place: Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
4th Place: Johnny Cueto, Cincinnati Reds
5th Place: Matt Cain, San Francisco Giants

AL Manager

1st Place: Buck Showalter, Baltimore Orioles
2nd Place: Bob Melvin, Oakland Athletics
3rd Place: Joe Maddon, Tampa Bay Rays

NL Manager 

1st Place: Davey Johnon, Washington Nationals
2nd Place: Bruce Bochy, San Francisco Giants
3rd Place: Dusty Baker, Cincinnati Reds

AL Rookie:

1st Place:  Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (unanimous)
2nd Place: Yoenis Céspedes, Oakland Athletics
3rd Place:  Yu Darvish, Texas Rangers

NL Rookie:

1st Place: Bryce Harper, Washington Nationals
1st Place:  Wade Miley, Arizona Diamondbacks
3rd Place:  Todd Frazier, Cincinnati Reds

Later Monday, the Players Choice Awards were announced — voted on by the players — and Cabrera was picked as the Player of the Year as well as the AL’s Outstanding Player. McCutchen was named NL Outstanding Player. Price and Dickey were the AL and NL Outstanding Pitchers. Trout was the AL Outstanding Rookie, while Cincinnati’s Todd Frazier was the NL Outstanding Rookie. The Players Choice Awards voting was done in September.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email