California’s new Hall of Famers: Robitaille, Montana, JRobby, Gwynn, FloJo and Louganis

Kings exec and Hockey Hall of Famer Luc Robitaille celebrates after the team clinched the Stanley Cup last June (Associated Press)

The California Sports Hall of Fame has decided to induct Luc Robitaille, Tony Gwynn, Florence Griffith Joyner, Joe Montana, John Robinson and Greg Louganisduring its seventh annual ceremony this summer, the organization announced today.

The June 9 ceremony at the Ontario Convention Center is also a fund raiser where proceeds benefit underprivileged youth, said Hall founder Christian Okoye, the former University of the Pacific star running back who became a member of the Kansas City Chiefs’ Hall of Fame.

Under Okoye’s leadership starting in 2006, the California Sports Hall of Fame has supported and promoted education and sports for underprivileged children and young adults.

Past inductees include Vin Scully, Chick Hearn, Bob Miller in the media division; Jackie Robinson, Willie Mays, Reggie Jackson and Steve Garvey in baseball; Magic Johnson, Jerry West, Elgin Baylor, Wilt Chamberlain, Bill Walton and Cheryl Miller in basketball; Tommy Lasorda, Bill Walsh, Dick Vermeil and John Wooden in the coaching division; Marcus Allen, Deacon Jones, Dan Fouts, Eric Dickerson, Merlin Olsen and Rosie Greer in football; Billie Jean King in tennis; Rafer Johnson, Bob Mathias, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Tommy Smith and John Carlos in track and field, and Karch Kiraly and Singin Smith in volleyball.

More information:, (909) 481-3541 or e-mail at

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email