Weekend Conversation: It’s a wide open race for the Tribune’s football player of the year award

Everyone wants to win a championship, but one of the most prestigious honors is the Tribune’s football player of the year award. Who will that be this year? Remember, this isn’t an award based on who performs the best at the next level, or who has the most talent. It’s not about who plays in the toughest division, though tougher schedules certainly help. Look, Sierra Vista players won in back-to-back years in 1995-96. There are past winners from Bassett, Northview, Baldwin Park and Azusa. It’s for anyone. It’s for the player who combines a spectacular individual season with a great team season. Then we consider the competition, and make the best choice. It’s our High School Heisman. Names that instantly jump out are Charter Oak’s Adam Muema. West Covina’s Ricky Johnson. Bishop Amat’s Darian Johnson. Glendora’s Wallace Gonzales. Walnut’s Leonard Rhodes. Rowland’s Michael Ball. South Hills’ Geoffrey Vaughns. There could be sleepers like Arroyo sophomore quarterback Steven Rivera, or what if South Hills’ Jordan Canada becomes eligible. You never know what’s going to happen, but one thing is certain, if you make this list, you’re among the very best in Valley history.

Tribune Players of the Year (1969-present)
1969 Fred McNeil, Baldwin Park RB
1970 Pat Haden, Bishop Amat QB and John McKay Jr., Bishop Amat WR
1971 Mike Vicino, Royal Oak RB
1972 Rob Hertel, Los Altos QB and Ron Himes, Walnut QB
1973 Dennis Sproul, Los Altos QB
1974 Brian Bethke, South Hills QB
1975 Richard Nyden, Azusa QB
and John Van Vuren, South Hills RB
1976 Bob Epps, West Covina DL
1977 Don Roberts, Temple City RB
1978 Ron Stivers, West Covina RB
1979 Ray McNeill, El Monte WR
and Danny Trejo, Baldwin Park WR
1980 Bill Stone, Charter Oak RB
1981 Blake Smith, Los AltosQB
and Steve Lauter, Los Altos WR
1982 Mike Smith, Los Altos QB
1983 Randy Tanner, Bishop Amat; Paul Hewitt, Monrovia
1984 Michael Johnson, Baldwin Park QB
1985 Eric Bieniemy, Bishop AmatRB
1986 Eric Bieniemy, Bishop Amat RB
1987 Bill Gallis, Northview QB
1988 Jason Martin, Los Altos TE/DB
1989 Marshawn Thompson, Bassett RB
1990 Jason Patterson, Bishop Amat FB/DE
1991 Marc Ruiz, Baldwin ParkQB
1992 Lawrence Phillips, Baldwin Park RB-DB
1993 Miguel Meriwether, West Covina QB/DB
1994 Daylon McCutcheon, Bishop Amat RB/FS
1995 Oscar Interiano, Sierra Vista RB
1996 Oscar Arzu, Sierra Vista RB
1997 Nick Covarrubias, Covina QB/DB
1998 Steve Stevenson, Charter Oak WR/RB/DB
1999 Jason Wright, Diamond Bar, RB/DB
2000 – Felipe Aguilar, Los Altos, QB
2001 – Donnie McCleskey, Bishop Amat RB
2002 – Daniel Drayton, Randall Brown, Los Altos RBs/DBs
2003 – Brigham Harwell, Los Altos DE
2004 – William Wagner, Bishop Amat RB
2005 – Mike McDonough, Covina QB
2006 – Mike McDonough, Covina QB
2007 – Dorian Wells, South Hills, RB
2008 – Chris Allen, Charter Oak, QB

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email