Girls Hoops: Wilson will face Covina in championship of the Rowland tournament

Rowland Girls Basketball tournament
Wednesday’s semifinals

Wilson 55, South Hills 43
Covina 47, Rowland 39
Thursday’s championship
Covina vs. Wilson, 5:30 p.m., Rowland High School

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

Boys Hoops: Damien too big and too good for Northview again; Rowland fends off California to meet Spartans in Wednesday’s semifinals; Covina beats South Hills at the buzzer

By Fred J. Robledo, Staff Writer
Northview High School boys basketball coach Ron Rice shrugged trying to come up with a reasonable answer. Northview is one of the top teams in the area, but Damien is on another level entirely, which it proved again with a 59-39 victory over the Vikings in the quarterfinals of the 58th annual Covina Christmas tournament on Tuesday.
Damien (11-1) will take on Rowland, a 59-50 winner over California in the semifinals tonight at 7 p.m., at Covina High School. (To continue click thread)

Covina wins on buzzer-beater: The oldest boys basketball tournament west of the Mississippi River has had its share of great finishes, but none arguably were better than a 3-point buzzer-beater by Edgardo Campos that gave Covina a 55-52 win over South Hills in the 58th annual Covina Christmas Tournament on Tuesday night.

The 58th Annual Covina Christmas Tournament began Monday and we will update each morning throughout the tournament.

Tonight’s semifinal games
Rowland vs. Damien, 7 p.m.
Covina vs. J.W. North, 8:30 p.m.

Monday’s first-round results
Top Bracket
California 64, Bosco Tech 37
Rowland 75, Azusa 49
Northview 76, Garey 54
Damien 59, Wilson 42
Bottom Bracket
Bishop Amat 51, Los Altos 45
JW North 69, Charter Oak 49
South Hills 71, Jurupa Hills 49
Covina 66, Sierra Vista 52

Tuesday’s quarterfinals
Top Bracket
Rowland 59, California 50
Damien 59, Northview 39
Bottom Bracket
JW North 54, Bishop Amat 36
Covina 55, South Hills 52
Continue reading

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

Boys Hoops: Nogales Christmas Tournament

The Nogales High School Boys Basketball Tournament begins on Monday and concludes with Thursday’s championship on Dec. 29 at Nogales High at 7:30 p.m. This is an old-school bracket-style knockout tournament, just the way I like it……

Monday, Dec. 26 first-round at Nogales High
Top Half Bracket

Walnut vs. Alta Loma, 6:30 p.m.
Nipomo vs. Notre Dame, Noon
La Mirada vs. Don Lugo, 1:45 p.m.
Renaissance Academy vs. El Rancho, 3:30 p.m.
Bottom Half
Serrano vs. Bloomington Christian, 10:30 a.m.
West Covina vs. La Serna, 5 p.m.
Savanna vs. Glenn, 9 a.m.
Basett vs. Nogales, 8 p.m.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

San Gabriel Valley Tribune’s 2011 All-Area Football Team: Arroyo’s Steven Rivera, Charter Oak’s Travis Santiago and West Covina’s Justen Meaders earn top honors; West Covina’s Mike Maggiore named coach of the year

To read Steven Rivera’s players of the year story along with Travis Santiago and Justen Meaders’ offensive and defensive honors, and Mike Maggiore’s coach of the year story, click the thread.


Player of the year: Steven Rivera, Arroyo, Sr.
Coach of the year: Mike Maggiore, West Covina
Offensive Player of the Year: Travis Santiago, Charter Oak, Sr.
Defensive Player of the Year: Justen Meaders, West Covina, Sr.
First Team Offense
QB — Travis Santiago, Charter Oak, Sr.
RB — Jalen Moore, Bishop Amat, Sr.
RB — Jimmy Frazier, West Covina, Sr.
WR — Hunter Duran, Arroyo, Sr.
WR — Aaren Vaughns, Charter Oak, Jr.
WR — Jamie Canada, South Hills, Sr.
ALL — Vinny Venegas, Covina, Sr.
OL — Jesse Gaytan, El Monte, Sr.
OL — Alec Zenner, San Dimas, Sr.
OL — Nick Enriquez, Chino Hills, Sr.
OL — George Castro, West Covina, Sr.
OL — Louis Oliva, Charter Oak, Sr.
K — Jack Schneider, Charter Oak, Jr.
First Team Defense
DL — Nick Hynes, Covina, Sr.
DL — Philip Romano, Covina, Sr.
DL — Justen Meaders, West Covina, Sr.
LB — Dorrin Turner, West Covina, Sr.
LB — Johnny Padilla, Covina, Sr.
LB — Justin Fa;’aola, Los Altos, Sr.
LB — Alex Arevalo, Damien, Sr.
DB — Desmond Reed, Azusa, Sr.
DB — Michael Patini, La Puente, Sr.
DB — Chris Solomon, West Covina, Sr.
DB — Jonathan Thropay, Charter Oak, Sr.
P — Brian Drulias, Diamond Bar, Sr.

Second Team Offense
QB — Billy Livingston, Covina, Sr.
RB — Kurt Scoby, Charter Oak, So.
RB — Sir Darius Yarbrough, Pomona, Sr.
WR — Chris Gilchrist, Charter Oak, Sr.
WR — Justin Mason, Covina, Sr.
WR — Jack Austin, Chino Hills, Jr.
ALL — Dillon Corona, San Dimas, Sr.
OL — Lake Aiono, South Hills, Jr.
OL — Jared Kough, Pomona, Sr.
OL — Moises Morales, Los Altos, Sr.
OL — Raymond Amaya, West Covina, Sr.
OL — Adrian Pena, La Puente, Sr.
K — Brandt Davis, Bonita, Jr.
Second team Defense
DL — Sal Velasquez, Bishop Amat, Jr.
DL — Logan Tracey, Damien, Sr.
DL — Jesse Ojeda, San Dimas, Sr.
LB — Skyler Crall, Glendora, Sr.
LB — Naim Colbert, Chino Hills, Sr.
LB — D.J. Daniels, Bishop Amat, Jr.
LB — Matt Eddy, Rosemead, Sr.
DB — Lonzel Barnett, West Covina, Sr.
DB — Khari Garcia, Charter Oak, Jr.
DB — Ajee Montes, Bishop Amat, Sr.
DB — Garrett Horine, Bonita, Sr.
P — Jose Esparza, Rosemead, Sr.

Tribune players of the Year (1969-present)
1969 Fred McNeil, Baldwin Park RB
1970 Pat Haden, Bishop Amat QB and John McKay Jr., Bishop Amat WR
1971 Mike Vicino, Royal Oak RB
1972 Rob Hertel, Los Altos QB and Ron Himes, Walnut QB
1973 Dennis Sproul, Los Altos QB
1974 Brian Bethke, South Hills QB
1975 Richard Nyden, Azusa QB
and John Van Vuren, South Hills RB
1976 Bob Epps, West Covina DL
1977 Don Roberts, Temple City RB
1978 Ron Stivers, West Covina RB
1979 Ray McNeill, El Monte WR
and Danny Trejo, Baldwin Park WR
1980 Bill Stone, Royal Oak RB
1981 Blake Smith, Los AltosQB
and Steve Lauter, Los Altos WR
1982 Mike Smith, Los Altos QB
1983 Randy Tanner, Bishop Amat; Paul Hewitt, Monrovia
1984 Michael Johnson, Baldwin Park QB
1985 Eric Bieniemy, Bishop AmatRB
1986 Eric Bieniemy, Bishop Amat RB
1987 Bill Gallis, Northview QB
1988 Jason Martin, Los Altos TE/DB
1989 Marshawn Thompson, Bassett RB
1990 Jason Patterson, Bishop Amat FB/DE
1991 Marc Ruiz, Baldwin ParkQB
1992 Lawrence Phillips, Baldwin Park RB-DB
1993 Miguel Meriwether, West Covina QB/DB
1994 Daylon McCutcheon, Bishop Amat RB/FS
1995 Oscar Interiano, Sierra Vista RB
1996 Oscar Arzu, Sierra Vista RB
1997 Nick Covarrubias, Covina QB/DB
1998 Steve Stevenson, Charter Oak WR/RB/DB
1999 Jason Wright, Diamond Bar, RB/DB
2000 – Felipe Aguilar, Los Altos, QB
2001 – Donnie McCleskey, Bishop Amat RB
2002 – Daniel Drayton, Randall Brown, Los Altos RBs/DBs
2003 – Brigham Harwell, Los Altos DE
2004 – William Wagner, Bishop Amat RB
2005 – Mike McDonough, Covina QB
2006 – Mike McDonough, Covina QB
2007 – Dorian Wells, South Hills, RB
2008 – Chris Allen, Charter Oak, RB
2009 – Adam Muema, Charter Oak, RB
2010 – Chris Solomon, West Covina, RB
2011 – Steven Rivera, Arroyo, QB

Continue reading

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email