Amanda Ball scores two late goals to lift Chino Hills to a 3-0 girls soccer victory over South Hills

Check out Amanda Ball’s 30-yard goal and her celebration dance with Ashley Gonzales …

You be the judge … Was this a deserving red-card given to South Hills goalkeeper Alyssa Lopez on a breakaway foul taking out Chino Hills’ Ashley Gonzales?

Friday’s girls soccer results: Chino Hills 3, South Hills 0; Ayala 2, Claremont 1; St. Lucy’s 3, Charter Oak 2.
Friday’s boys soccer results: Chino Hills 3, South Hills 0; Damien 3, Charter Oak 2, Claremont 0, Ayala 0.

By Fred J. Robledo
COVINA — Chino Hills midfield attacker Amanda Ball scored two late goals in the 78th and 79th minutes to seal the deal against host South Hills, moving the CIF-Southern Section’s fourth-ranked girls soccer team a step closer to the Sierra League title after a 3-0 victory.

Ball, headed to UC Santa Barbara and Ashley Gonzales, the Long Beach State commit who notched her 23rd goal of the season in the first half to go up 1-0, are a potent combination that gives everyone fits.

But South Hills had an even bigger obstacle to overcome after sophomore goalkeeper Alyssa Lopez was red-carded on a breakaway foul on Gonzales in the 32nd minute, forcing South Hills to play short-handed the rest of the way.

“Playing with 11 we had to have the perfect game plan against them,” South Hills coach Scott Mocabee said. “To have a player sent off put my girls in a tough spot.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email

    It was a bit harsh but I say YES , Red Card. The keeper did not really make a play on the ball, just on the girl. Even SH coach understood how the ref made the call. Last defender, breakaway, dangerous play , etc.

  • LA Futbol

    Pitchman is right. Last defender, breakaway, didn’t touch the ball = Red card all day! What you should be asking is if the post goal celebration is worthy of a card! Since when is that stuff allowed in HS sports? Tacky.

  • LA Futbol

    And Freddy…where’s the love for Walter Thurmond III? Local boy is the nickel back in the Legion of Boom and we haven’t heard a peep from the Trib on him all year! Better get some ink on that Super Bowl Champ ASAP!!

  • Valley Athletics

    Definitely a red card … No attempt At ball .

  • Soccer4Life

    No, it’s not a red card foul. This was not an OGSO. The
    player in blue was playing a 50/50 ball. Second you will see that the
    defender pull back to let the goalie make a play on the ball. The player in
    blue just out received the goalie. This was not done in a reckless or dangerous
    manner or with intent. Goalie should have received a yellow.

  • Soccer Fan

    To me it seems the keeper is trying to make a play on the ball and you can tell the defender came off the forward to try to cover the goal so to me this was not a clear play to goal so it should of been only a yellow card if that.