Aikman honored by college hall of fame

Former UCLA QB Troy Aikman was one of 13 players named to the 2008 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A) Class. The release is below:

2008 FBS College Football
Hall of Fame Class Announced


NEW YORK, May 1, 2008 – From the national ballot of 75 candidates and a pool of hundreds of eligible nominees, Archie Manning, chairman of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, announced the 2008 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A) Class, which includes the names of 13 First Team All- America players and two legendary coaches.



TROY AIKMAN- QB, UCLA (1987- 88)
BILLY CANNON – HB, LSU (1957- 59)
JIM DOMBROWSKI- OT, Virginia (1982- 85
PAT FITZGERALD- LB, Northwestern (1994- 96)
WILBER MARSHALL- LB, Florida (1980- 83
RUEBEN MAYES- RB, Washington State (1982-85)
RANDALL McDANIEL- OG, Arizona State (1984-87)
DON McPHERSON- QB, Syracuse (1984- 87)
JAY NOVACEK – TE, Wyoming (1982- 84)
DAVE PARKS- SE, Texas Tech (1961- 63)
RON SIMMONS- NG, Florida State (1977- 80)
THURMAN THOMAS- RB, Oklahoma State (1984- 87)
ARNOLD TUCKER- QB, Army (1944- 46)
JOHN COOPER- 192-84-6 (.691) — Tulsa (1977-84), Arizona State (1985-87), Ohio State (1988- 2000)
LOU HOLTZ- 249-132-7 (.651) — William & Mary (1969-71), North Carolina State (1972-75), Arkansas (1977-83), Minnesota (1984-85), Notre Dame (1986-96), South Carolina (1999-2004)
“I want to commend the NFF Honors Court and its Chairman Gene Corrigan for their hard work,” said Manning. “The 2008 class represents six decades of football’s finest athletes, and they are all exceptionally worthy of having their accomplishments preserved forever in the College Football Hall of Fame.”

The 2008 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Class will be inducted at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 9, 2008, at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, Ind., during ceremonies in the summer of 2009.

Share this post:Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Jill Painter. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jill Painter

Jill Painter is a sports columnist for the Los Angeles News Group, covering everything from the Dodgers, Lakers, Clippers, USC, UCLA, Kings, golf and all human interest stories in sports.
  • Charles O’Bannon

    Are they rewarding him for his pro achievements? Because all I remember Troy Aikman giving us is heartbreak in college.

    He didn’t bring home the Victory Bell once as a starter, losing out his whole college career to Rodney Peete’s USC Trojans in the only game that matters.


    Charles, you are a true bruin.
    Yes, it is true that Aikman never beat SC, but he did win 3 super bowls, did he not. Does that not count for something? And maybe it is easier to win a super bowl then to beat SC.

    Only thinking out loud here.

  • doug4ucla

    I do remember he killed Nebraska at the Rose Bowl and they where at the time ranked very high…oh I do have the game on VHS.SMILE