Caldwell named Pac-10 Coach of the Year

UCLA women’s basketball head coach Nikki Caldwell was named Pac-10 coach of the year today after leading the No. 25 Bruins to a 22-7 record and a school record-tying 15-3 record in conference play.

Jasmine Dixon and Markel Walker were named to the All-Pac-10 team, while Walker was also an all-freshman team selection.

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.– A panel of Pac-10 women’s basketball media members who cover the league voted STANFORD SO F Nnemkadi Ogwumike Pac-10 Player of the Year; ARIZONA G Davellyn Whyte Pac-10 Freshman of the Year; ARIZONA JR F Ify Ibekwe Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year; and UCLA head coach Nikki Caldwell Pac-10 Coach of the Year, the Conference office announced today.

Nnemkadi Ogwumike (Cypress, Texas) leads the Pac-10 in scoring (18.2 ppg) and ranks third in rebounding (9.4 rpg). Helping the second-ranked Cardinal run the table during the regular-season league action (18-0) and earn the top seed in the upcoming State Farm Pac-10 Women’s Basketball Tournament, she is shooting 63.8 percent from the field, the fourth-best shooting percentage in the nation.

Ify Ibekwe (Carson, Calif.) is the only player in the Pac-10 to average a double-double, grabbing 11.3 rpg to lead the Conference and also ranking 12th with 13.9 ppg. With Ibekwe’s presence on the court and in the paint, the Wildcats rank third in the Pac-10 in field goal percentage, allowing opponents to shoot just 37.8 percent.

Ibekwe’s teammate Davellyn Whyte (Phoenix, Ariz.) leads the Wildcats in scoring, netting 16.0 ppg while shooting 43.5 percent from the floor. She is the highest-scoring freshman in the league, turning in a school-record 39-point performance on Jan. 16 in the 119-112 win over Oregon.

Nikki Caldwell is in her second season at the UCLA helm, leading the Bruins to their best-ever seeding in the nine years of the Pac-10 Tournament. The 25th-ranked Bruins are 22-7 heading into the tournament, including a 15-3 mark in Pac-10 play, tying a school record for most league victories.

The media also selected a 15-member All-Pac-10 team, a five-member All-Defensive team and a five-member All-Freshman team.

It is the first time the media has voted on Conference honors and are in addition to the Pac-10 awards voted on by the league coaches, which will be announced on Wednesday and Thursday. The panel included local and national media members.

The State Farm Pac-10 Women’s Basketball Tournament tips off on Thursday, March 11 with two first-round games at Galen Center in Los Angeles. The action continues on Friday, March 12 with the quarterfinals. The first six games of the tournament will be streamed live at and

The quarterfinal winners move on to the semifinals on Saturday, March 13, with the champion being crowned on Sunday, March 14. The final three games of the tournament will be nationally televised on Fox Sports Net.

2010 Pac-10 Media All-Pac-10 (Points):
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, STANFORD (218); Jayne Appel, STANFORD (203); Alexis Gray-Lawson, CALIFORNIA (185); Kayla Pedersen, STANFORD (176); Ify Ibekwe, ARIZONA (153); Jasmine Dixon, UCLA (117); Ashley Corral, USC (106); Taylor Lilley, OREGON (106); Danielle Orsillo, ARIZONA STATE (85); Davellyn Whyte, ARIZONA (69); Jeanette Pohlen, STANFORD (58); Markel Walker, UCLA (56); Talisa Rhea, OREGON STATE (47); Sami Whitcomb, WASHINGTON (41); Briana Gilbreath, USC (32).

2010 Pac-10 Media All-Freshman Team (Points):
Davellyn Whyte, ARIZONA (62); Markel Walker, UCLA (53); KiKi Moore, WASHINGTON STATE (40); DeNesha Stallworth, CALIFORNIA (27); Gennifer Brandon, CALIFORNIA (7).

2010 Media All-Defensive Team (Points):
Ify Ibekwe, ARIZONA (50); KiKi Moore, WASHINGTON STATE (35); Rosalyn Gold-Onwude, STANFORD (33); Briana Gilbreath, USC (20); Carly Noyes, WASHINGTON STATE (12).

Share this post:Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page
  • Anonymous

    Way to go Coach Caldwell!!! Note to Dan Guerrero: time for a raise for this woman!

  • Anonymous

    I like Markel Walker and Jasmine Dixon.
    Markel got hurt much during the game.

  • Shannon

    Like with all sports at UCLA… the men start off strong, then die. Then the women take over and dominate in that sport. Thank God for our women’s teams. Without them, UCLA would not have so many National Championships in the past 10 years. I would love to see a stat, men vs women regarding National Championship. Common, somebody out there is gonna read this and respond accordingly.

  • mrybill2

    You know, we had a great year and all that, but Stanford did go 18-0. First time ever for them.
    I REALLY like the direction our program is headed, but VanDerveer’s GOTTA be COY this year.

  • UCLA ’64

    Shannon, Shannon, Shannon …

    UCLA has 104 NCAA National Team Championships: 71 men’s titles and 33 women’s titles. Please let’s not make this a men vs. women thing because that degrades everyone. Scroll down the page to “Combined Program.” If you’re going to count only the last 10 years, let’s throw out most of the trophies in the Hall of Fame for both men and women.

    CONGRATULATIONS to Nikki Caldwell on her winning Pac-10 COY in basketball. You could tell when she was hired that she’d be successful. I hope the women’s basketball team wins it all next year. Go Bruins in the tournament!!


    I sure as hell hope Pat doesnt retire n e time soon because i want NIKKI around FOREVER!

  • Boston Bruin

    BruinBeatch makes a great point.

    I only hope that Ms. Caldwell sees that it could difficult constantly working in the shadow of Pat Summit’s amazing career.

    (Selfishly) I’d hope Nikki would think that she could create her own dynasty at UCLA and stay for awhile.

    Congratulations, Coach on your achievements with your talented players.