Moore, Forbath, Ayers named Phil Steele first-team All-American

From UCLA:

Three members of the 2010 UCLA football team have been named first-team All-Americans by Phil Steele’s College Football Preview. In addition, 10 Bruins were named to the magazines various All-Pac-10 teams.

Senior place kicker Kai Forbath, junior free safety Rahim Moore and junior outside linebacker Akeem Ayers were all selected to the publication’s first team.

Forbath, a consensus All-American a year ago, won the 2009 Lou Groza Award as the nation’s top place kicker and led the country in field goals per game (2.15). Moore, who earned several All-America honors, led the nation with 10 interceptions, one shy of the UCLA record and the most in the Football Bowl Subdivision since 2003. Ayers scored three defensive touchdowns – two on interceptions and one on a fumble recovery – including the go-ahead score in UCLA’s 30-21 win over Temple in the EagleBank Bowl.

UCLA and North Carolina were the only schools to place three players on the first team while Alabama, Georgia, Nebraska and Oklahoma had two each.

Ten Bruins made one of the magazines four All-Pac-10 teams. Forbath, Moore and Ayers were named to the first team while sophomore punter Jeff Locke and sophomore cornerback Sheldon Price were second-team selections. Junior wide receivers Taylor Embree and Josh Smith (kick returner) were named to Steele’s All-Pac-10 third team while junior defensive end Datone Jones, junior safety Tony Dye and junior wide receiver Nelson Rosario were fourth-team selections.