Franklin, Ayers, Dye named UCLA football MVPs at banquet

From UCLA:

R. “Red” Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player at the Annual UCLA Football Awards Banquet, held Tuesday evening at the Hyatt Century Plaza Hotel.

Franklin became the first Bruin since Chris Markey in 2006 to rush for over 1,000 yards. He finished with 1,127 yards, the highest total by a Bruin since 1997. He ranked fifth in the Pac-10 in rushing and earned second-team All-Pac-10 honors from the league’s coaches.

Ayers, one of the most versatile defensive performers in the country, earned second-team All-America honors from the Walter Camp Football Foundation. On the year, Ayers ranked fourth on the team with 68 tackles, first (tied) with 4.0 sacks, second with 10.0 tackles for loss and second with two interceptions.

Dye led the team with 96 tackles in his 12 games and his average of 8.00 tackles per contest ranked fourth (tied) in the Pac-10. He also led the Bruins and ranked seventh (tied) in the league with 10 passes defended (nine passes broken up and one interception). He earned All-Pac-10 honorable mention from the league’s coaches.

The complete list of winners after the jump…

Charles Pike Memorial Award for Outstanding Scout Team Player: Offense: running back Jordon James; Defense: linebacker Eric Kendricks; Special Teams: linebacker Aramide Olaniyan

Jack. R. Robinson Award for Highest Scholarship of a Senior Player: holder/punter Danny Rees

N.N. Sugarman Award for Best Leadership: Offense: center Ryan Taylor; Defense: linebacker Sean Westgate

Captain Don Brown Memorial Award for Most Improved Player: Offense: tackle Sean Sheller; Defense: linebacker Patrick Larimore

John Boncheff, Jr. Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year: Offense: F-back Anthony Barr; Defense: linebacker Jordan Zumwalt, tackle Cassius Marsh, end Owa Odighizuwa

Ed Kezirian “Coach K” Award for Academic and Athletic Excellence: safety Dietrich Riley

Tommy Prothro Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player: place kicker Kai Forbath, punter Jeff Locke, running back Derrick Coleman

Kenneth S. Washington Award for Outstanding Senior: Offense: tackle Micah Kia; Defense: tackle David Carter

George W. Dickerson Award for Outstanding Offensive Player vs. USC: running back Johnathan Franklin

Donn Moomaw Award for Outstanding Defensive Player vs. USC: safety Tony Dye

Paul I. Wellman Memorial Award for All-Around Excellence: wide receiver Taylor Embree

Jerry Long “Heart” Award: offensive guard Darius Savage

Special Recognition: linebacker Akeem Ayers, safety Rahim Moore

Henry R. “Red” Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player: Offense: running back Johnathan Franklin; Defense: linebacker Akeem Ayers, safety Tony Dye

Share this post:Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page