Franklin, McDonald to represent UCLA at Pac-12 Media Day

Perhaps unsurprisingly, UCLA redshirt senior running back Johnathan Franklin will be the team’s offensive representative at Pac-12 Media Day on July 24 at Universal Studios.

He is, after all, one of the team’s elder statesmen, coming off another strong season, a mouthpiece for going on three years.

But from a defense that includes many upper classmen and even several senior starters, the new staff has selected redshirt sophomore safety Tevin McDonald to attend the event.

McDonald had an impressive freshman season and has made a very good impression on the new coaching staff, particularly defensive backs coach Demetrice Martin. McDonald bulked up some during the offseason and will help fortify a veteran defensive backfield, with Aaron Hester, Sheldon Price and Andrew Abbott. His maturation this season is key as he tries to follow in the footsteps of Rahim Moore.

Here is the schedule for the event:

9 a.m.
Welcome – Larry Scott, Pac-12 Commissioner
Gary Stevenson, President of Pac-12 Enterprises
9:15 a.m.
Colorado – Coach Jon Embree, David Bakhtiari (OT), Douglas Rippy (ILB)
9:35 a.m.
Arizona – Coach Rich Rodriguez, Matt Scott (QB), Jake Fisher (LB)
9:55 a.m. Arizona State – Coach Todd Graham, Cameron Marshall (RB), Brandon Magee (LB)
10:15 a.m.
Utah – Coach Kyle Whittingham, John White (RB), Star Lotulelei (DT)
10:35 a.m.
UCLA – Coach Jim Mora, Johnathan Franklin (RB), Tevin McDonald (FS)
10:55 a.m.
USC – Coach Lane Kiffin, Matt Barkley (QB), T.J. McDonald (S)
11:15 a.m. Break
11:25 a.m.
Washington State – Coach Mike Leach, Jeff Tuel (QB), Travis Long (DE)
11:45 a.m.
Oregon State – Coach Mike Riley, Markus Wheaton (WR), Jordan Poyer (CB)
12:05 p.m.
California – Coach Jeff Tedford, Keenan Allen (WR), Marc Anthony (DB)
12:25 p.m.
Washington – Coach Steve Sarkisian, Keith Price (QB), Desmond Trufant (CB)
12:45 p.m.
Stanford – Coach David Shaw, Stepfan Taylor (RB), Chase Thomas (OLB)
1:05 p.m.
Oregon – Coach Chip Kelly, Kenjon Barner (RB), Michael Clay (LB)