UCLA trio makes Freshman of the Year watchlist

Shabazz Muhammad, Jordan Adams and Kyle Anderson all landed on the midseason watchlist for the Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award — a 12-man group selected by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. The news isn’t a huge surprise given that the trio accounts for 52.7 percent of UCLA’s scoring and 45 percent of its rebounding.

Here’s the complete list in alphabetical order:
Jordan Adams, UCLA
Kyle Anderson, UCLA
Isaiah Austin, Baylor center
Anthony Bennett, UNLV forward
Jahii Carson, Arizona State guard
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana guard
Ben McLemore, Kansas guard
Shabazz Muhammad, UCLA
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky forward
Glenn Robinson III, Michigan forward
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State guard
Nik Stauskas, Michigan guard

Bennett and McLemore also both made the Oscar Robertson midseason watchlist for Player of the Year, so Muhammad — the Bruin with the best shot at winning the award — will need a monstrous late-season effort to catch up, particularly with his team fading fast from the national stage.

The last Pac-12 player to win the award was Arizona guard Jason Gardner in 2000.

Share this post:Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page
  • tough when a team is losing, and tough when some of the players are fighting ailments and illness. Seems that the voters don’t take into account such obstacles.

  • lifetime Bruin Fan

    WE need more football recruiting news, Please.

  • Spedjones

    yet they can’t beat SC. Super.