Linebacker Anthony Barr named Bednarik semifinalist

Anthony Barr will need to clear off extra shelf space in a few months. Arguably the Pac-12’s best player, the UCLA linebacker is a near-lock for multiple individual awards this season.

His latest mention comes as a semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the best defensive player in college football. Through seven games, Barr has 13 tackles for loss (sixth in the nation) and four forced fumbles (second). His six sacks rank third in the Pac-12.

You can see all 16 semifinalists after the jump, a list that curiously does not include South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney.

LB Anthony Barr, UCLA
DE Vic Beasley, Clemson
LB Chris Borland, Wisconsin
DT Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
CB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon
CB Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech
DE Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
CB Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State
LB Khalil Mack, Buffalo
LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama
LB Trent Murphy, Stanford
DE Michael Sam, Missouri
LB Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
LB Kyle Van Noy, BYU
DT Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest
DE Leonard Williams, USC