UCLA running back Paul Perkins makes Doak Walker watch list

UCLA’s Paul Perkins, who ran under the radar for much of 2014, will enter the season as a candidate for the Doak Walker Award.

The Bruins’ talented junior was one of 69 names on the watch list to be college football’s top running back. Perkins ran for a conference-best 1,575 yards in 2014, but settled for an All-Pac-12 honorable mention behind four other tailbacks.

No UCLA player has ever won the Doak Walker Award, which was first handed out in 1990. The Bruins’ all-time leading rusher Johnathan Franklin was one of three finalists for the trophy in 2012.

Here are all the Bruins who have appeared on preseason watch lists this month:

Biletnikoff Award — WR Jordan Payton
Wuerffel Trophy — C Jake Brendel
Butkus Award — LB Myles Jack
Rotary Lombardi Award — OL Caleb Benenoch, DT Kenny Clark, LB Myles Jack, DL Eddie Vanderdoes
Jim Thorpe Award — CB Ishmael Adams, CB Fabian Moreau
Bronko Nagurski Trophy — DT Kenny Clark, LB Myles Jack, CB Fabian Moreau
Outland Trophy — C Jake Brendel, DT Kenny Clark, DL Eddie Vanderdoes
Lou Groza Award — K Ka’imi Fairbairn
Rimington Trophy — C Jake Brendel
Bednarik Award — DT Kenny Clark, LB Myles Jack
Maxwell Award — RB Paul Perkins
Paul Hornung Award — CB Ishmael Adams, LB Myles Jack