Scott Quessenberry, Kenny Young to represent UCLA at Pac-12 Media Days

UCLA center Scott Quessenberry (52) was named to the Spring Watch List for the Rimington Trophy. (Photo by Keith Birmingham, Pasadena Star-News/SCNG)

Offensive lineman Scott Quessenberry and linebacker Kenny Young will be UCLA’s two player representatives at next month’s Pac-12 Media Days at Hollywood and Highland. The players will accompany head coach Jim Mora during the two-day event from July 26-27.

The Bruins are scheduled to take the main stage at 10:20 a.m. on July 26.

Quarterback Josh Rosen would have been the media’s first choice to represent the offense, especially with USC sending its star quarterback Sam Darnold. Sending Quessenberry follows Mora’s tendency to give seniors the opportunity to speak for the team, but there have been exceptions, like when Deon Hollins went in 2015 as a junior instead of Myles Jack, who was also a junior at that time. If you can make an exception for Hollins, bringing Rosen doesn’t seem too big of an ask. It’s likely that Quessenberry will spend most of the day just fielding questions about Rosen anyway. There is at least a little more star power this year than last when there was the same number of quarterbacks and punters (one each).

The full schedule and line up for Pac-12 media days:

Wednesday, July 26
9 a.m. – Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott
9:40 a.m. – ARIZONA – Head Coach Rich Rodriguez, Jacob Alsadek (OL), DeAndre’ Miller (LB)
10:05 a.m. – CALIFORNIA – Head Coach Justin Wilcox, Tre Watson (RB), James Looney (DT)
10:30 a.m. – UCLA – Head Coach Jim Mora, Scott Quessenberry (OT), Kenny Young (LB)
10:55 a.m. – OREGON STATE – Head Coach Gary Andersen, Ryan Nall (RB), Manase Hungalu (LB)
11:20 a.m. – COLORADO – Head Coach Mike MacIntyre, Lindsay Phillips (RB), Derek McCartney (LB)
11:45 a.m. – WASHINGTON – Head Coach Chris Petersen, Jake Browning (QB), Keishawn Bierria (LB)

Thursday, July 27
9:40 a.m. – OREGON – Head Coach Willie Taggart, Justin Herbert (QB), Troy Dye (LB)
10:05 a.m. – ARIZONA STATE – Head Coach Todd Graham, Kalen Ballage (RB), JoJo Wicker (DL)
10:30 a.m. – STANFORD – Head Coach David Shaw, Bryce Love (RB), Harrison Phillips (DT)
10:55 a.m. – WASHINGTON STATE – Head Coach Mike Leach, Jamal Morrow (RB), Peyton Pelluer (LB)
11:20 a.m. – USC – Head Coach Clay Helton, Sam Darnold (QB), Cam Smith (LB)
11:45 a.m. – UTAH – Head Coach Kyle Whittingham, Salesi Uhatafe (RG), Filipo Mokofisi (DT)