UCLA links: Josh Rosen named to O’Brien Award Watch List

UCLA Bruins quarterback Josh Rosen (3) during the UCLA football Spring Showcase on Saturday, April 29, 2017 in Los Angeles. (Photo by Keith Birmingham, Pasadena Star-News/SCNG)

UCLA’s Josh Rosen is one of four Pac-12 quarterbacks named to the watch list for the Davey O’Brien Award, which honors the nation’s top quarterback.

The SEC had the most nominations for a single conference with six, and the ACC, Big 12 and Pac-12 each had four on the 30-man watch list. USC’s Sam Darnold, Washington’s Jake Browning and Washington State’s Luke Falk were also named to this year’s watch list.

Before a shoulder injury derailed his sophomore season, Rosen was the first true freshman to be named a semifinalist for the O’Brien Award since USC’s Matt Barkley in 2009. Troy Aikman won UCLA’s only O’Brien Award in 1988.

A list of the Bruins included on watch lists so far:

  • Josh Rosen (Maxwell — best college playerl O’Brien — best quarterback)
  • Kenny Young (Bednarik — best defensive player; Butkus — best linebacker; Wuerffel — best community servant)
  • Scott Quessenberry (Rimington — best center; Outland — best interior lineman)
  • Austin Roberts (Mackey — best tight end)
  • Jaleel Wadood (Thorpe — best defensive back)

Other links: