Scott Quessenberry on Outland Trophy Watch List

UCLA center Scott Quessenberry (52) is on the watch list for the Outland Trophy. (Photo by Keith Birmingham, Pasadena Star-News/SCNG)

Already on the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, UCLA center Scott Quessenberry added another preseason watch list nomination Thursday as the redshirt senior was included on the 81-man Outland Trophy Watch List.

The Outland Trophy goes to the nation’s best interior lineman. Former UCLA offensive tackles Jonathan Ogden and Kris Farris won the award in 1995 and 1998, respectively.

One year after redshirting due to double shoulder surgeries, Quessenberry was named All-Pac-12 first team last season, as selected by the league’s head coaches. He started all 12 games at center.

A list of the Bruins included on watch lists so far:

  • Josh Rosen (Maxwell — best college player)
  • Kenny Young (Bednarik — best defensive player)
  • Scott Quessenberry (Rimington — best center; Outland — best interior lineman)
  • Austin Roberts (Mackey — best tight end)

UCLA football links: Quessenberry, Roberts on Rimington, Mackey watch lists

UCLA’s Austin Roberts makes a catch as he beats Arizona State’s Maurice Chandler during the first half of an NCAA college football game Saturday, Oct. 8, 2016, in Tempe, Ariz. (AP Photo/Ross D. Franklin)

Among a deep group of tight ends, it’s Austin Roberts that’s gained some national recognition as the junior was named to the John Mackey Award Watch List on Tuesday. The Mackey Award is given to the nation’s best tight end. Marcedes Lewis won the award in 2005, which is the only time a UCLA player was has won it.

Roberts had 15 receptions for 261 yards and a touchdown last year, close to fellow returning tight end Caleb Wilson‘s numbers. Wilson, a one-time USC walk-on, had 16 catches for 220 yards.

After he made it on to the Rimington Trophy’s summer watch list, redshirt senior Scott Quessenberry made the cut for the award’s fall list, which was released Tuesday. The Rimington Trophy, awarded to the nation’s top center, has a 70-man fall watch list, which includes candidates from all conferences. The Pac-12 had seven nominations.

Other links:

Josh Rosen, Kenny Young on Maxwell, Bednarik Award watch lists

PASADENA, CA – SEPTEMBER 24: Kenny Young #42 of the UCLA Bruins returns his interception as he looks for a block from Adarius Pickett #6 during the first quarter against the Stanford Cardinal at Rose Bowl on September 24, 2016 in Pasadena, California. (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

Welcome to Watch List Season, friends.

UCLA quarterback Josh Rosen was included on the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award, given annually to the best college football player, on Monday. Last year’s Maxwell Award winner, Louisville’s Lamar Jackson, returns to defend his crown. Rosen is one of 35 quarterbacks on the 84-player watch list.

Linebacker Kenny Young earned a watch list nod for the Bednarik Award, which is awarded to the nation’s best defensive player. Young is UCLA’s leading returning tackler, and will represent the UCLA defense at Pac-12 Media Days later this month.

More watch lists will be released almost every day for the next two weeks as the season inches closer.

Scott Quessenberry named to Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List

UCLA center Scott Quessenberry (52) was named to the Spring Watch List for the Rimington Trophy on Monday. (Photo by Keith Birmingham, Pasadena Star-News/SCNG)

Watch List Season is coming early.

Redshirt senior Scott Quessenberry was one of 63 players named to the spring watch list for the Rimington Trophy on Monday. The award recognizes the top center in the country.

Quesenberry was named first-team All-Pac-12 last season after starting all 12 of UCLA’s games. He had missed the previous year due to double shoulder surgery.

Brett Hundley earns spot on Davey O’Brien Award watch list

This award isn’t the focus of his school-run campaign, but UCLA’s Brett Hundley was tapped for another watch list on Wednesday.

The redshirt junior made the 39-man watch list for the Davey O’Brien Award, given each season to the top college quarterback in the country.

Hundley is among the six semifinalists from last year to return on the watch list. He is joined by 2013 winner Jameis Winston (Florida State), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), Sean Mannion (Oregon State), Braxton Miller (Ohio State) and Bryce Petty (Baylor).

Earlier this month, the UCLA star also made the watch list for the Maxwell Award for national college player of the year.

Here are the other Bruins who have landed on various preseason watch lists so far: Continue reading “Brett Hundley earns spot on Davey O’Brien Award watch list” »