La Mirada’s Samantha Huerta is girls cross country Runner of the Year

Samantha Huerta can only imagine what kind of high school cross country career she could have had if she was not injured every season.
The La Mirada senior was injured every year. This season it was a foot injury, of which the cause has yet to be diagnosed.

More story:

Runner of the year: Samantha Huerta, La Mirada, senior
Coach of the year: Dan Whittington, Whittier
First team
Lizbeth Cano, Schurr, sophomore
Brenda Dorantes, Whittier, senior
Catalina Pantoja, Whittier, senior
Sophia Sousa, Whittier, junior
Esmeralda Morales, El Rancho junior
Angelina Ramos, St. Paul, senior
Rochelle Viramontes, Whittier, junior
Second team
Jessica Baltran, Whittier, senior
Rosalba Cabrera, California, senior
Aleah Brooks, La Mirada, sophomore
Alma Colindres, El Rancho, senior
Samantha Dunh, Santa Fe, senior
Zoe Gurule, California, freshman
Gabrielle Mendoza, Schurr, senior

Facebook Twitter Reddit Tumblr Email

California’s Cisco Cuellar is cross country Runner of the Year

Cisco Cuellar appeared content to take a backseat to California High School cross country teammate Angel Aguirre.
But then came the Woodbridge Invitational. Cuellar did not win the popular and well-attended early season meet, finishing eighth. But the race gave the senior enough confidence to take over the Condors’ No. 1 spot on the team.
More story:

Runner of the year: Cisco Cuellar, California, senior
Coach of the year: David Rojas, California
First team
Angel Aguirre, California, junior
Jonathan Ayson, California, junior
Donald Brown, El Rancho, junior
Noel Echeverria, California, senior
Julian Romero, California, senior
Abraxaz Sanchez, Schurr, senior
Raymond Segura, Whittier, senior
Second team
Sebastian Bautista, Whittier, sophomore
Andres Falcon, St. Paul, senior
Eziquiel Gurule, California, sophomore
Nicolas Mijarez, Whittier, sophomore
Albert Madueno, El Rancho, junior
Jonathan Modesto, El Rancho, senior
Tommy Sanchez, St. Paul, senior

Facebook Twitter Reddit Tumblr Email

La Serna’s Michelle Wong is Golfer of the Year

There was a moment of disbelief at the CIF Southern Section Southern Division golf team championships.
Scores were rapidly being posted at Lakewood Country Club and members of the La Serna High began to wonder if they had a chance of advancing to the all-division CIF-SS finals for the first time.
“At first we did not think we would have a chance,” Lancers freshman Michelle Wong said. “Coach said, ‘Just wait and we’ll see.’ And then coach said, ‘We have got first.’ We were like, ‘No we didn’t.’ But when we saw the scores, we were screaming.”
More story:

Player of the year: Michelle Wong, La Serna, freshman
Coach of the year: Marty Galvan, La Serna
First team
Briana Chacon, La Serna, freshman
Alison Chang, Walnut, senior
Taylor Ornelas, La Serna, junior
Kailie Vongsaga, Diamond Bar, freshman
Stephanie Wong, La Serna, senior
Vanessa Wang, La Serna, junior
Second team
Anabelle Chang, Walnut, junior
Josephine Chang, Diamond Bar, senior
Sandra Meza, La Serna, junior
Katherine Muzi, Walnut, sophomore
Crystal Wang, Diamond Bar, sophomore
Abigail Wiranatha, Walnut, freshman

Facebook Twitter Reddit Tumblr Email

La Serna’s George Mooney is water polo Player of the Year

The expectations of a big season were just as high. Never mind that the La Serna High school boys water polo team had a large influx of freshman to its high-powered program.
George Mooney and first-year Lancers coach John Pringle did not expect anything less.
See story:

Player of the year: George Mooney, La Serna, senior
Coach of the year: John Pringle, La Serna
First team
Eric Borunda, La Serna, sophomore
Diego Diaz, Montebello, senior
Mario Moran, Montebello, senior
Isaac Norsian, Schurr, senior
Tim Overbeck, La Serna, junior
Jesus Padilla, California, freshman
Pavle Pejovski, Whittier, senior (GK)
Second team
Mark Arroyo, Schurr, senior
Kyle Brophy, California, senior
Matthew Contreras, Montebello, senior (GK)
Daniel Mendez, Whittier, senior
Jonah Phillips, California, senior
David Sarkissian, Whittier, junior
Sean Ward, La Serna, senior

Facebook Twitter Reddit Tumblr Email

CIF State Playoffs: La Mirada beats Oceanside; Camarillo outlasts La Habra


CAMARILLO — Defense wins championships?Not on Friday.Jake Constatine threw for 327 yards and seven touchdowns and host Camarillo outlasted La Habra 63-49 to win the CIF State Southern California Division II-AA regional.Isaiah Otis rushed for 124 yards and a touchdown for the Scorpions (15-0), who will face Del Oro in Sacramento for the state title next week.Eric Barriere accounted for 462 yards and four touchdowns for La Habra, which finished 13-2.“Who would have thought (a championship game would be like this),” La Habra coach Frank Mazzotta said. “Who would have thought.”
— Stephen Ramirez
La Mirada 34, Oceanside 16

LA MIRADA — The dream season for the La Mirada football team will extend another week.The Matadores put on a dominant ground display to claim the CIF State SoCal Regional Division III-AA championship, taking an early lead and never looking back in a 36-14 win over Oceanside.“That’s a special thing, for everybody in the stadium, to know you’re going to run it and still be able to do it,” said La Mirada coach Mike Moschetti. “Oceanside has a tough, physical defense. We’re banged up and our offensive line took the game over in the second half.”
— Mike Guardabascio, Long Beach Press-Telegram

Facebook Twitter Reddit Tumblr Email