La Canada’s Garrett Chin, Flintridge Sacred Heart’s Kirsten Vose are Swimmers of the Year


Staff photos by Keith Birmingham

BOYS SWIMMER OF THE YEAR: Garrett Chin, La Canada, Senior
There was a quiet fortitude within the La Canada High School boys swimming team this season.
The Spartans did not win the Rio Hondo League title, a crown they have consistently won in recent years. They had several standout swimmers, but the depth of other teams in the league, taking third, fourth and fifth places in the league meets, proved too much for the Spartans to overcome.
“We did not win dual meets, but I told the guys to definitely wait for CIF,” senior Garrett Chin said. “That is where we are going to shine.”
La Canada coach Art Lopez said that his team admittedly struggled through those periods. But his senior athletes, led by Star-News Swimmer of the Year Chin, helped the Spartans overcome those bumps.

GIRLS SWIMMER OF THE YEAR: Kirsten Vose, Flintridge Sacred Heart, Junior
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy athletes often wear a heart on their warm-up jerseys. The heart replaces the ‘H’ in FSHA.
Competing in the CIF-Southern Section’s top swimming division, one of the smallest schools in the division by enrollment, the Tologs need a lot of heart. They have a student population of about 400, more than a 1,200 students fewer than the division’s champion, Santa Margarita. That can lead to a tight-knit community that has a large collective heart.
That is exactly the way Kirsten Vose took to the water at the CIF-SS finals at Riverside City College.
“At the CIF finals, we came together for the relays and that is all that really matters,” Vose said. “My individual results? I was not too worried.”
Vose helped the Tologs to a sixth-place team finish in the division. For her efforts, she has been selected the Star-News Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive year.

Complete details at:

Casey Holcomb, San Marino
Dane Bell, La Canada, junior
Justin Chiu, Keppel, senior
Marco Flores, Flintridge Prep, senior
Peter Loakes, La Canada, senior
Javier Lopez, San Marino, junior
Tenny Chong, Arcadia, Freshman
Douglas Nogueira, St. Francis, Junior
Carlo Sivilotti, Flintridge Prep, Senior
Samuel To, San Marino, Senior
Garrett Tse, South Pasadena, Junior
Andersen Chen, Arcadia, Senior
Kevin Fry, Arcadia, Senior
Calvin Giang, Gabrielino
David Jimenez, Marshall, Junior
Harry Kim, South Pasadena, Sophomore
Sean Kim, Gabrielino, Junior
Andreas Langen, Flintridge Prep, Freshman
Jacob Mullin, South Pasadena, Freshman
Matt Varraveto, La Canada, Junior
Andrew Wright, South Pasadena, Senior

Steve Bergen, Flintridge Sacred Heart
Samantha Campbell, La Canada, senior
Kate Herrill, Flintridge Sacred Heart, Sophomore
Summer Otazu Micah, Maranatha, sophomore
Briana Thai, Alhambra, freshman
Yida Wang, Keppel, junior
Katie Altmayer, Flintridge Sacred Heart, Senior
Gabby Maarse, Pasadena Poly, Freshman
Jacqueline Torrez, La Salle, Sophomore
Madi Witt, Flintridge Prep, Junior
Samantha Zavala, South Pasadena, Senior
Christina Campbell, Flintridge Sacred Heart, Freshman
Heather Grotzinger, Pasadena Poly, Sophomore
Katie Iio, South Pasadena, Junior
Eliza Koh, San Marino, Junior
Jennifer Langen, Flintridge Prep, Senior
Alisha Mah, Keppel, Senior
Michelle Martin, Keppel, Freshman
Samantha Torrez, La Salle, Senior
Rachel Wong, La Canada, Junior
Sabrina Zavala, South Pasadena, Junior

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by klair. Bookmark the permalink.