Independent Spirit: The Brokeback Mountain avalanche continues

Brokeback Mountain? continued its sweep of the major awards today, winning the Best Picture trophy at the Independent Spirit Awards in Santa Monica. Ang Lee was named Best Director.

But the Spirits shared the wealth, awarding Crash? two statues Best First Feature for Paul Haggis and Best Supporting Actor (Matt Dillon) and two to Capote:? Best Actor (Philip Seymour Hoffman) and Best Screenplay (Dan Futterman). Hoffman seemed to be wearying of collecting all the honors: Ive been given enough,? he said.

Felicity Huffman won Best Actress love for Transamerica,? and Amy Adams of Junebug? was named Best Supporting Actress. Paradise Now? was named Best Foreign Film and Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room? won Best Documentary honors.

Im not sure about this and am way too lazy to research it, but this may be the first time in the Independent Spirit Awards 21 years where all of the winners were also Oscar nominees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.