Hartman, Ricketts, Buddle, Gonzalez named MLS awards finalists

i-59c5b01c132568003f6938e20c00849a-buddlefuture.jpgGalaxy striker Edson Buddle, up for MLS MVP, tries to peer into the future at a recent game and guess the winners (AP Photo).

But no Bruce Arena for Coach of the Year.

And why is Thierry Henry up for an award (I’m guessing former CSUDH, UCLA and Galaxy goalkeeper Kevin Hartman is not casting his vote for the Frenchman).

Here’s the finalists for each award as announced by MLS this afternoon and the schedule the winners will be announced:

Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists
Kevin Hartman (FC Dallas)
Donovan Ricketts (Galaxy)
Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Fair Play Finalists – Individual
C.J. Brown (Chicago Fire)
Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union)
Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists
Chris Albright (New York Red Bulls)
Bobby Convey (San Jose Earthquakes)
Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Visa Defender of the Year Finalists
Nat Borchers (Real Salt Lake)
Omar Gonzalez (Galaxy)
Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year Finalists
Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo)
Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards)
Seth Stammler (New York Red Bulls)

adidas Referee of the Year Finalists
Mark Geiger
Kevin Stott
Baldomero Toledo

Rookie of the Year Finalists
Danny Mwanga (Philadelphia Union)
Andy Najar (D.C. United)
Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

Coach of the Year Finalists
Hans Backe (New York Red Bulls)
Schellas Hyndman (FC Dallas)
Jason Kreis (Real Salt Lake)

Newcomer of the Year Finalists
Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls)
Joel Lindpere (New York Red Bulls)
Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake)

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists
Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy)
David Ferreira (FC Dallas)
Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthqakes)

Awards Announcements Schedule:

Tuesday: Rookie of the Year, Fair Play Individual & Team of the Year, and Goalkeeper of the Year

Nov. 5: Visa Defender and adidas Referee/Assistant Referee of the Year

Nov. 8: MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year

Nov.10: Newcomer and Comeback Player of the Year

Nov. 11: MLS Coach of the Year

Nov. 15: 2010 MLS Best XI

Nov. 17: AT&T Goal of the Year and NAPA Auto Parts Save of the Year

Nov. 19: Volkswagen MVP & Commissioner’s Award

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email
This entry was posted in Pointless Awards by Nick Green. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nick Green

South Bay-based Los Angeles News Group soccer columnist and blogger Nick Green writes at the 100 Percent Soccer blog at www.insidesocal.com/soccer and craft beer at the Beer Goggles blog at www.insidesocal.com/beer. Cheers!