Breaking News: Galaxy Announces Roster Cuts

Word came down a little later than expected today, but the Galaxy just announced they have waived five players: goalkeeper Steve Cronin, defender Mike Randolph, defender Troy Roberts, last year’s fourth-round draft pick Brandon McDonald and midfielder (and 2008 second round SuperDraft pick) Ely Allen.

None of these names will come as a surprise to regular readers of this blog, which has previously reported that the majority of these players will be leaving the club (perhaps a bigger surprise is that goalkeeper Josh Wicks is not on the list – although Monday is the official MLS roster compliance date, so stay tuned).

Moreover, Galaxy Coach Bruce Arena has either not deployed these players at all – or in the case of Allen, sparingly – in preseason. And while Arena has said he wanted to take a look at newcomers, it’s pretty clear in retrospect he was clearing out the squad players he inherited and doesn’t believe are up to snuff.

Updated from the (edited) Galaxy press release:

Roberts joined the Galaxy in 2005 and was part of the club’s double winning side that season. Roberts played in 61 career games for the club, including a career-high 17 in 2008. He scored twice in his four years with the club and appeared in nine of the ten games that the Galaxy played in 2008 under Bruce Arena.

Cronin also joined the Galaxy in 2005 and became the team’s No. 1 goalkeeper in 2008. He appeared in and started a career-best 22 games, compiling a 6-9-6 record with a 2.05 goals against average before missing the final two months of the season with a fractured right hand that he suffered against New England on August 30.

Randolph was signed by the Galaxy in September in 2006, appearing in 39 games over the past two years with the club, tallying four assists. Utilized as a left back, as well as on the left side of midfield, Randolph tallied three assists in 20 games played last season.

Updated: To the survivors go the spoils and so the official Galaxy blog tells us that goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts will now wear a jersey with No. 1 on the back, Todd Dunivant will wear No.2, Omar Gonzalez will wear No. 4, Josh Saunders will wear No. 12 and Mike Magee will now wear No. 18 (which he debuted at the Pan-Pacific Championship).

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email
  • mbar

    I don’t understand how anyone who watched the team last year could not be surprised to see Brandon McDonald on that list…

    BMac was a pleasure to watch last season, is young and is cheap. Qualities that continue to be unwelcome around these parts…

  • The Wolf

    Why is it such a surprise to you that Wicks was not cut? The Galaxy have normally kept three keepers on the roster in the past. Not too long ago, the Galaxy had Joe Cannon, Steve Cronin, & Lance Friesz in GK stable.
    All things considered, Ricketts, Saunders, and Wicks doesn’t seem too horrible…

    Nick replies: Yes, but now with the smaller rosters this season I’m not sure they have the latitude to keep three goalkeepers anymore. Guess we’ll find out Monday (roster/cap compliance day).

  • Studs Up

    Well done Bruce. New rookies are 10 times better footballers than the bunch just waived. Just get me a couple of guys that can dance with the ball a bit and we’ll be on our way. How about Marta for one?

  • Ben

    McDonald is the shocker, nobody believed he would be cut.

    Randolph had a good 1st and bad 2nd year, clearly Bruce prefers the oldies at left back though.

    No beef with Cronin (can’t hold on to a ball to save his life), Roberts and Allen gone.

    I have no idea how good/bad Ricketts will be, however Saunders is a decent keeper. IMO, still would be nice to see Wicks gone as well.

  • East LA Chiva

    How soon until some of these guys start trying out for Chivas USA?

  • Joseph D’Hippolito

    Has anybody noticed that, out of the five SuperDraft picks the Galaxy had last year, the only two remaining with the club are Sean Franklin and Bryan Jordan?

    I recall conversing with a Galaxy media relations employee who reads this blog frequently about the relative merits of the Galaxy and Chivas USA. During the course of the conversation, I criticized some of the Galaxy’s young players. “What’s wrong with our young players,” the media relations employee asked.

    Perhaps he should redirect that question to Mr. Arena.

  • Robert

    Don’t they still have Alamo as a 3rd keeper?

    I am guessing Beckham, Griffin, Jordan and Wicks are the last 4 gone; although that leaves them heavy at Fwd. Have no idea if the dollars add up though.

    If Becks stays that probably means a higher $ mid, i.e. Kovalenko, might have to be moved.

    Nick replies: No, Alamo retired in January after suffering two serious knee injuries within a year. He played all of one reserve game as a pro.

  • Joseph D’Hippolito

    Robert, I don’t think Kovalenko’s going anywhere, Beckham or no Beckham. Arena brought him in specifically to plug the sieve that has been central midfield, and to add some ferocity. At this point, he might be the most critical player on the team, after Donovan. And, yes, I do think Donovan will come back because Bayern Munich doesn’t want to purchase him.