Sol Win WPS Player, Coach of the Year Awards

Not many surprises here.

The WPS awards were handed out Saturday night ahead of Sunday’s WPS All-Star game in St. Louis.

The six award winners:

*Golden Boot Award – Marta (Sol)
*Defender of the Year – Amy LePeilbet (Boston Breakers)
*Coach of the Year – Abner Rogers (Sol)
*Goalkeeper of the Year – Hope Solo (Saint Louis Athletica)
*Sportswoman of the Year – Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC)
* Player of the Year Award – Marta (Sol)


“Each player in the league has it as their goal to try for an award like this,” said Marta on being named WPS MVP. “It’s very special to be a pioneer in this league in the first season. It’s been a great year and I look forward to many good years to come.”

Facebook Twitter Plusone Digg Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr Email
This entry was posted in Sol by Nick Green. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nick Green

South Bay-based Los Angeles News Group soccer columnist and blogger Nick Green writes at the 100 Percent Soccer blog at and craft beer at the Beer Goggles blog at Cheers!