UPDATE: Baseline League swim titles decided, Whittington sets record

The Los Osos girls swimming and diving team finished first to earn the Baseline League Championship.

For the boys, both the Los Osos and Damien High athletic directors have tweeted that their respective teams had won a share of the league title.

Despite the tie, the Damien boys swimming and diving team has won at least a share a of the league championship each of the last 19 years in a row, according to athletic director Jeff Grant.

Grant also stated that Damien defeating Los Osos in the dual meet during the season and Los Osos’ victory at the league finals this past week played a role in the outcome and the eventual tie in the league standings.


Los Osos senior Brian Whittington finished first in the 200 individual medley and the 100 breaststroke events, setting new Baseline League records.

Whittington finished the 200 IM with a time of 1:54.69 and a time of 58.18 in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Shane Althaus took first in the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 1:43.78, ahead of Cody Liske of Damien who finished second.

Althaus also took second in the 500 freestyle event with a time of 4:41.02 behind Michael Tenney of Chino Hills. Both times for Althaus were personal best.

Damien junior Richie Campbell finished with a time of 47.54 seconds in the 100-yard freestyle.


Los Osos junior Rachel Forbes finished first with a time of 58.42 in the 100-yard butterfly event followed by Johnna Encarnacion of St. Lucy’s.

Forbes also contributed as the final leg of the 400-yard freestyle relay that finished first with a time of 3:49.64

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email