Jaleel Wadood accepts NFLPA bowl invitation

Jaleel Wadood (Photo by Brad Graverson // Daily Breeze)

Safety Jaleel Wadood gets to play one more game in the Rose Bowl.

The senior has accepted an invitation to the NFLPA Collegiate Bowl, one of the three major senior showcase events to prepare prospects for the NFL Draft. The game will be played at the Rose Bowl on Jan. 20 at 1 p.m. PT and televised on FS1.

Wadood, whose 40 career starts ranks second among active UCLA defenders, had 70 tackles, one interception and three pass breakups this season.

Senior linebacker Kenny Young will play in the East-West Shrine Game on Jan. 20 in St. Petersburg, Fla.

Kenny Young named first-team All-Pac-12

With 101 tackles on the year, senior linebacker Kenny Young earned his first career first-team All-Pac-12 honor on Tuesday, along with second-team honors for quarterback Josh Rosen, offensive tackle Kolton Miller and safety Jaleel Wadood.

Receivers Darren Andrews and Jordan Lasley, offensive linemen Scott Quessenberry and Najee Toran and defensive lineman Jacob Tuioti-Mariner were named honorable mentions. 

More on UCLA’s all-conference performers.

A full of both All-Pac-12 teams.

Jaleel Wadood included on Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Safety Jaleel Wadood was included on the watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award. (MICAH ESCAMILLA — STAFF PHOTOGRAPHER)

UCLA safety Jaleel Wadood earned a spot on the Jim Thorpe Award Watch List for the second straight year Friday as the senior was included in the preliminary 45-man group vying for the title as the nation’s top defensive back.

The St. John Bosco alum led the UCLA secondary in tackles last year with 77, which ranked third on the team, and was named honorable mention All-Pac-12 by the conference’s coaches. The Bruins gave up only 12 touchdown passes last season, the fewest in the Pac-12. Wadood is one of two returning starters in the secondary for UCLA, along with cornerback Nate Meadors.

A list of the Bruins included on watch lists so far:

  • Josh Rosen (Maxwell — best college player)
  • Kenny Young (Bednarik — best defensive player)
  • Scott Quessenberry (Rimington — best center; Outland — best interior lineman)
  • Austin Roberts (Mackey — best tight end)
  • Jaleel Wadood (Thorpe — best defensive back)