SBVC’s Jacardo Hawkins headed to Tennesee Tech

Sophomore JaCardo Hawkins of San Bernardino Valley College has signed with Tennessee Tech University.

JaCardo Hawkins

Hawkins, a 6-foot-8 forward, was a first-team All Foothill Conference selection, averaging 13.2 points per game and shooting 65.4 percent from the field. He ranked third in the state with 254 rebounds and 42 blocks.

His best game of the season came against Glendale when he scored 24 points, with 11 rebounds, 3 blocks and 2 steals.

Hawkins helped the Wolverines to a 28-3 overall record and a 9-1 conference record.

Tennessee Tech University is located in Cookeville, Tenn., 80 miles east of Nashville and 45 miles south of the Kentucky-Tennessee border. It competes in Ohio Valley Conference (OVC).

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

SBVC point guard Perris Hicks signs with Fordham

Sophomore Perris Hicks of San Bernardino Valley College has signed with NCAA Division I Fordham.

Perris Hicks

Hicks, a 6-foot-1 point guard, averaged 17.1 points, 5 assists and 3.3 rebounds in leading the Wolverines to a share of the Foothill Conference title. He was named Co-MVP in the conference along with Chaffey’s Victor Joseph.

Hicks visited the school earlier this month. It was his only visit but he had also drawn a lot of interest from Middle Tennessee State, UTEP, Colorado State and Loyola-Chicago.

“It’s a great conference, I liked the campus and it’s an up and coming program,” Hicks said. “I developed a good relationship with the coaches so it felt like a great opportunity.”

Hicks, a native of Pasadena, was also an All-Conference selection as a freshman when he averaged 15.8 points. He plans to major in communications.

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Chaffey, SBVC lead Foothill Conference men’s basketball honors

The Foothill Conference announced honors in men’s basketball. San Bernardino Valley and Chaffey shared the last regular season title so it’s no surprise they were heavily represented here.

Here is the list of those honored:

Perris Hicks

COACH OF THE YEAR: Quincy Brewer, San Bernardino Valley
COACH OF THE YEAR: Jeff Klein, Chaffey

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Victor Joseph, Soph., Chaffey
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Perris Hicks, Soph., San Bernardino Valley

Brian Beard, Chaffey
Alfred Brown, Chaffey
John Brown, Victor Valley
Chris Drayton, Barstow
Christopher Edward, Chaffey
Justin Elliott, Rio Hondo
Brandon Jolley, San Bernardino Valley
Jacardo Hawkins, San Bernardino Valley
Robert Lewis, San Bernardino Valley
Jordan Rogers, Barstow
Zach Rollins, San Bernardino Valley
Xavier Roy, Victor Valley
Donavan Taylor, Chaffey

Share this

Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email