SBVC football coach Kevin Emerson headed to Orange Coast

San Bernardino Valley College’s loss is Orange Coast’s gain.

Football coach Kevin Emerson is leaving the Inland Empire school after five years for the same position at Orange Coast, located in Coast Mesa.

The SBVC program was in disarray when Emerson arrived in 2009 but he turned that around quickly, going 29-23 in his five years.

He directed the Wolverines to the American Division Mountain Conference title in 2010, just two years after the team finished 0-10. That 2010 team led the state in scoring 41.5 points per game and Emerson was named as California Community Colleges Football Coaches Association Region VI Coach of the Year.

Last season, Emerson led the Wolverines to an 8-3 record and a trip to the Patriotic Bowl, the second bowl appearance in his tenure as head coach.

Prior to SBVC, Emerson was the head coach at Citrus (2001-07) where he was 46-27, with four consecutive Western State Conference South championships. During his tenure at Citrus, Emerson was named the WSC South Coach of the Year on two occasions and led the Owls to two playoff one postseason bowl appearances.


JC football honors handed out

The Chaffey and San Bernardino Valley football teams both had fine seasons. Their players and coaches have been rewarded accordingly.

Sophomore defensive lineman John Siliga (Redlands) and freshman kicker Jonathan Gonzales (Apple Valley), both of SBVC, earned first-team All-American honors.

Those players also were included on the All-Region V team, with Siliga named Defensive Player of the Year.

SBVC was also represented on that team by freshman wide receiver Darrian Jackson, sophomore running back Jordan Mixon and sophomore defensive lineman Justin Van Natta.

First-year Chaffey coach Rob Hadaway was named Region Coach of the Year. Panthers earning all region honors were sophomore offensive lineman Kyle Wright and freshman quarterback Demetri Morales.

Victor Valley had four players named – sophomore wide receiver Kyle Keplinger, sophomore offensive lineman Charles Mouton, sophomore linebacker Jimmy Musgraves and sophomore defensive back Charles Taylor.