Tournaments: Montebello too much for St. Francis in La Salle/Temple City Tourney; La Caada advances to New Year’s Ball Tourney final; Pas Poly wins Tourney.

La Salle/Temple City Holiday Boys Basketball Classic
At La Salle High

Montebello 62, St. Francis 52

Nogales Boys Basketball Tournament
At Nogales High

Renaissance Academy vs. Damien, 8 p.m.

New Year’s Ball Girls Basketball Tournament
At La Canada High

La Caada 45, Chaminade 41
Serra 58, Canyon 44
Championship: Thursday, 4:30 p.m.

San Gabriel Tournament

Pasadena Poly 59, Lawndale 47

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

Mystery at San Gabriel, all girls basketball coaches fired; school officials not explaining the reason why

San Gabriel High School athletic director Patty Hill confirmed Monday that the entire San Gabriel High School girls basketball coaching staff – from varsity to the freshman level – was fired after an incident during a junior varsity game against El Monte on Dec. 9, though Hill refused to give details.
Hill referred all questions to the Alhambra Unified School District, which didn’t return calls Monday. San Gabriel football coach Keith Jones subsequently took over as the girls varsity head coach on an interim basis, but has been replaced by Jennifer White, recently cleared by the Alhambra Unified School District to take over as the varsity coach.
It isn’t known how many coaches were fired and have been replaced. As recently as Dec. 18, San Gabriel canceled a junior varsity contest against South Pasadena due to a “lack of coaches,” according to South Pasadena athletic director Ralph Punaro.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

Tournaments Cont’: Los Tacos Championship today

Los Tacos Girls Soccer Tournament
Monday’s Results
FSHA 3 Monrovia 0 (Fsha Goals: Koemans 2, Jacobs 1—FSHA
Assists Torres, Jacobs)
FSHA 1 Royal 0 (Fsha Goal: Koemans, Assist: Montgomery
La Salle 0 St. Joseph-Santa Maria 0 (SJ wins PK tiebreaker 3 – 2)
La Salle 1 Burbank 0
Highland 3 Monrovia 1
Highland 1 Royal 2
Beckman 2 Burbank 1
Beckman 3 St. Joseph-Santa Maria 1

Day 1 Bracket Point Totals
Red—FSHA (6) Royal (3) Highland (3)
Monrovia (0)
Green– Beckman (6) La Salle (3) St. Joseph (1) Burbank (0)

Today’s Schedule
FSHA v Highland, 10 a.m.
La Salle v Beckman, 10 a.m.
Royal v Monrovia, 11:15 a.m.
St. Joseph v Burbank, 11:15 a.m.

Championship game is today at 3: 45 p.m., Glendale Sports Complex

La Canada New Year’s Ball Tournament
Today’s Pool Play Schedule

Serra vs. Village Christian, 2:30 p.m.
Arcadia vs. Canyon, 4 p.m.
La Canada vs. Filmore, 5:30 p.m.
Keppel vs. Chaminade, 7 p.m.

31st Annual La Canada Holiday Boys Soccer Classic
Today’s Pool Play Schedule

Canyon vs. Flintridge Prep, 2:30 p.m.
La Canada vs. Village Christian, 4 p.m.
Burbank vs. Santa Clara, 5:30 p.m.
Maranatha vs. Golden Valley, 7 p.m.

La Sall/Temple City Tournament
Semifinals Today

Montebello vs. Crescenta Valley at La Salle, 7:30 p.m. at La Salle
Keppel vs. St. Francis, 7:30 p.m. at Temple City

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

Tournaments Continued: La Caada New Year’s Ball, La Caada boys soccer, Alhambra/Temple City, Los Tacos.

La Caada New Year’s Ball Tournament
Today’s Pool Play schedule
Burbank vs. Filmore, 2:30 p.m.
Village Christian at Flintridge Sacred Heart, 4 p.m.
La Salle vs. Arcadia, 5:30 p.m.
Chaminade vs. Flintridge Prep, 7 p.m.
Byes: La Caada, Serra, Canyon, Keppel

31st Annual La Caada Holiday Boys Soccer Classic
Today’s Pool Play Schedule
Maranatha vs. Santa Clara, 2:30 p.m.
Golden Valley vs. Burbank, 4 p.m.
Village Christian vs. Canyon, 5:30 p.m.
La Caada vs. Flintridge Prep, 7 p.m.

Los Tacos Holiday Girls Soccer Festival
At Glendale Sports Complex (2200 Fern Lane, Glendale)
Today’s Pool Play Schedule

Flintridge Sacred Heart vs. Monrovia, 10 a.m., Field 4
Beckman vs. Burbank, 10 a.m. Field 5
St. Joseph’s vs. La Salle, 11:30 a.m. Field 5
Royal vs. Highland, 11:30 a.m. Field 4
Flintridge Sacred Heart vs. Royal, 2:15 p.m. Field 5
La Salle vs. Burbank, 2:15 p.m. Field 4
Highland vs. Monrovia, 3:45 p.m. Field 4
St. Joseph vs. Beckman, 3:45 p.m. Field 5

La Salle/Temple City Boys Basketball Tournament
Today’s Second Round Schedule

At Temple City
Temple City vs. St. Francis, 6 p.m.
Arcadia vs. Keppel, 7:30 p.m.
At La Salle
La Caada vs. Crescenta Valley, 6 p.m.
Montebello vs. La Salle, 7:30 p.m.

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email

2009 Star-News All Area: Riley, Maddox earn top honors


Player of the Year – Dietrich Riley, St. Francis, Sr.
Coach of the Year – Ryan Maddox, Monrovia

QB – Justin Posthuma, St. Francis, Sr.
RB – Benny Hung, San Marino, Sr.
AP – Nick Bueno, Monrovia, Jr.
WR – Josh Hanson, La Caada, Sr.
WR – Mike Alexander, La Salle, Sr.
WR – Taylor Lagace, Arcadia, So.
TE – Travis Talianko, St. Francis, So.
OL – Matthew O’Malley, Temple City, Sr.
OL – Patrick Carroll, St. Francis, Jr.
OL – Cameron St. George, St. Francis, Sr.
OL – Kizz Prusia, Monrovia, Sr.
OL – Harley Hulin, Monrovia, Sr.
PK – Ian Sternau, St. Francis, Jr.

DL – Ellis McCarthy, Monrovia, So.
DL – Grant Haggard, Monrovia, Sr.
DL – David Chirikian, St. Francis, Sr.
LB – Josh Lowden, Monrovia, Sr.
LB – Christopher Cabrera, St. Francis, Sr.
LB – Cody Cowell, Rio Hondo Prep, Sr.
LB – Trent Converse, San Marino, Sr.
DB – Mark Covarrubias, San Gabriel, Jr.
DB – Dujawn Jones, Monrovia, Sr.
DB – Jarron Williams, Muir, Sr.
SS – Stevie Yortsos, San Marino, Sr.
P – Mark Dannhausen, La Salle, Sr.

Continue reading “2009 Star-News All Area: Riley, Maddox earn top honors” »

Facebook Twitter Plusone Reddit Tumblr Email