Pomona football duo earns statewide honor


Shawn Wilson and Andre Walker were a big part of Pomona High School’s run to a Mid-Valley Division CIF championship.

Now the two have earned a pretty nice honor in recognition of that.

Both have been named to the MaxPreps California Division III All-State team which includes athletes from all over the rather large geographic area.

Wilson was named to the “Second Team Offense.” He caught 50 passes for 1,375 yards and 19 touchdowns which help earned him our Inland Valley Offensive Player of the Year honor.

Wilson, who has committed to Oregon State, also played full time at defensive back and will probably be playing that position in college.

Walker was named to the “Second Team Defense.” He made 183 tackles and tallied 12 sacks. He was the CIF Mid Valley Division Defensive Player of the Year and was also a Daily Bulletin first team All-Inland Valley selection.


Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Keith Richardson deserves Pomona football coaching nod


It seems there is another football coaching opening every week.

There are vacancies at Diamond Ranch, Chino, Alta Loma and Claremont with Pomona also trying to decide what to do after its coach Aaron Jamieson was put on administrative leave right before the Red Devils first playoff game.

The Pomona position should be a no-brainer. Keith Richardson deserves that position.

When Jamieson was told to go away, the players were given the opportunity to vote for who they wanted to lead them the rest of the way. They chose Richardson, who had been the defensive coordinator. That spoke volumes.

All Richardson did was steer the team to the Mid-Valley Division championship. You can’t do better than that. Yes the Red Devils had some marvelously talented players, but Richardson kept the team on course when the adversity could have spelled the end to that title hope.

Let’s hope the right decision is forthcoming.




Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Valle Vista League football honors

San Dimas beats Paraclete for Mid-Valley Division title

(No positions or grades for players were given)

MVP – Darreon Lockett, Pomona
Lineman of Year – Jared Trujillo San Dimas
MVP Offense – Joseph Mayorga, San Dimas
MVP Defense – Darryl Aggers, Pomona

First team offense
Shawn Wilson, Pomona
Desmond Bobo, Pomona
Jayson Miller, Baldwin Park
Fasuto Martinez, San Dimas
Pearnell Smally IV, Covina
Darren Torres, Covina
Mike Moran, Bladwin Park
Bryan Salinas, Northview
Mike Zapata, San Dimas
Fidel Castro, San Dimas
Ruben Retana, Covina
Victor Valdez, Pomona
Noah Reep, San Dimas
Dylan Mora, Baldwin Park

First team defense
Desmond Bobo, Pomona
Shawn Wilson, Pomona
Erick Ware, San Dimas
Kheeyon Woods, Pomona
Jared Brito, Northview
Erasmo Isiorida, Northview
Bobby Rios, San Dimas
Anthony Urrea, Covina
Bryan Salinas, Northview
Josiah Erickson, San Dimas
Darren Torres, Covina
Brian Torres, Pomona

Second team offense

Raymond Baraza, Baldwin Park
Christian Padilla, Covina
Daniel Valencia, Northview
Josh Avila, San Dimas
Christian Blackman, Northview
Manny Lua, Pomona
James Gonzalez, Nogales
Matt Arellano, Nogales
Francisco Perez, Baldwin Park
Alex Arroyas, Pomona
Jaron Reed, Northview
Luis Palma, Baldwin Park
Ben Rodriguez, Covina
Jared Brito, Northview
Colin Rumbin, San Dimas

Second team defense
Daniel Valencia, Northview
Christian Padilla, Covina
Nicholas Ybarra, Northview
Jacob Martin, Nogales
Victor Valdez, Pomona
Derek Kearns, San Dimas
Libner Castillo, Pomona
David Valadez, Covina
Max Flores, Northview
Mitchell Giles, San Dimas
Michael Roberts, Covina
Ricky Padilla, Northview

Honorable mention - Chris Salcido, San Dimas; Justin Padilla, Baldwin Park; Erik Williams, Covina; Ricky Beltran, San Dimas; Dequan Earl, Pomona; Anthony Guardado, Nogales; Robert Conway, Wilson; Jaron Reed, Northview; Aaron Ballard, Wilson; Jason Wallace, San Dimas; Rocky Mosqueda, Nogales; Andrew Guevara, Covina; Erik Hurrola, Wilson; Anthony Montez, Pomona; Ronnie Silva; Alberto Valenzuela, Baldwin Park; Mateo Ovalle, Nogales; Austin Maldonado, Wilson; Ryan Caveness, Covina; Oscar Sandoval, Wilson.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email