2015-16 All-CIF boys and girls basketball

Chino Hills High School boys basketball player Lonzo Ball headlined the All-CIF Southern Section Open Division team as player of the year on Monday. LiAngelo Ball and Eli Scott also represented the Huskies on the list and head coach Steve Baik was named coach of the year.

The Huskies will play in the CIF State Open Division playoffs on Saturday, facing Northern California representative Concord De La Salle.

Damien High’s Bryce Peters, a University of Colorado commit, rounded out the Open Division selections for local athletes.

Ayala had three representatives on the All-CIF Division 2AA list, led by John Mounce, who received coach of the year honors. John Edgar was named the player of the year for the division and Austen Awosika was also acknowledged on the list.

The trio will lead Ayala to its first CIF State title game on Thursday against Manteca in Sacramento.

For Division 3A, Roman Silva of Diamond Ranch earned player of the year honors and teammate Tyler McLean also received CIF-SS honors. Silva and McLean led the Panthers to a victory over Chaminade, 53-48, in the championship game.

Kayla Washington of Cajon led local girls athletes with a CIF-SS Open Division honors. In Division 1A, Janessa Thropay of Chino Hills was selected to the team along with Diamond Bar’s Juliana Gamboa and Destinee Garr.

Boys Basketball

Girls Basketball

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Each with a title, Etiwanda, Mater Dei stars share top individual award

As it turned out, the Etiwanda and Santa Ana Mater Dei boys basketball teams each ended the season with a championship. Perhaps it’s only fitting that the teams’ star players share Southern California’s top individual award.

After leading the team to the school’s first CIF title in eight years, Etiwanda’s Jordan McLaughlin (right) was named the CIF-SS Division 1AA co-Player of the Year along with Mater Dei’s Stanley Johnson on Monday.

Etiwanda defeated Mater Dei in the CIF-SS championship game only to lose two weeks later in the CIF State tournament semifinals to a Mater Dei team on the way to its third straight state title. Etiwanda’s Dave Kleckner was granted sole possession of the CIF-SS Coach of the Year award after leading the No. 6 seed to the first championship since current NBA players Darren Collison and Jeff Pendergraph helped the Eagles to the 2005 CIF title.

Continue reading

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

San Dimas girls land three on Division 6 All-CIF soccer team

San Dimas is the only local girls soccer team with more than one player on the all-CIF teams released Monday, which assuredly makes the Saints the only team with three. Goalkeeper Britain Chaputa and junior midfielders Daisy Duran and Morgan Quaternick were all named to the Division 6 all-CIF team on the heels of carrying San Dimas within eight minutes of a CIF-SS championship. The Saints’ season ended with a stunning 3-2 loss to Citrus Valley Feb. 27 in the CIF championship game, but all-CIF honors are a welcome reprieve.

Player of the Year: Abbi Williams, Sr. Defense – Chaminade
Coach of the Year: Mike Evans – Chaminade

Continue reading

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

All-CIF football teams: Kaiser lands six selections and both Players of the Year

Offensive Player of the Year – Marquette Washington, Kaiser (12) 6-0 205
Defensive Player of the Year – Anthony Saenz, Kaiser (12) 6-1 235
Coach of the Year – Phil Zelaya, Kaiser

QB Malcom Hill Rancho Verde 5-10 175 12
Back Jamal Morrow Heritage 5-10 205 12
Back David Solis Paloma Valley 5-10 180 12
Back Keshaun Slaughter Rancho Verde 5-8 170 11
Back Jordan Ah’honi Colton 5-10 185 12
Back Alex Arellano Chino 5-10 185 12
Continue reading

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email