Diamond Bar golf standouts sign letters of intent

Displaying dsc_5844.jpg

Two golf standouts from Diamond Bar High School have signed national letters of intent, with Bethany Wu deciding on UCLA and Joan Park opting for Division II Cal State San Marcos.

Wu first gave a verbal commitment to play at UCLA during her sophomore year.

Earlier this month the pair led the Brahmas to the CIF state championship after back-to-back seasons as runner-up.

“Bethany and Joan have been great leaders as well as great golfers,” said coach Tony McCabe said. “When those two girls came into the program it took us to another level. And for four years we’ve been at the top of the ladder.”

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

CIF-SS cross country finals, Inland Valley results

Jurupa Hills’ Michael Teran, above, en route to winning the CIF-SS Division 2 title

Here are results from CIF-SS cross country finals
Top 7 teams and 5 individuals on non-qualifying teams advance to CIF State Championships

Division 1 boys winner: Burbank Burroughts (70)
Qualified: Alta Loma’s Koby Pederson 7th (15:10) as an individual
Did not qualify: 15. Chino Hills 324

Division 2 boys winner: Ventura 83
Qualified: 1. Jurupa Hills 101 (top runner: 1. Michael Teran 14:44)
4. Claremont 136 (top runner: 10. Mike Lowrie 15:09)
Ayala’s Christian Barajas 15th (15:17) as an individual
Did not qualify: 10. Ayala 264, 13. Colony 292.

Division 3 boys winner: Brea Olinda 44
Qualified: Bonita’s Dillon Beckum 7th (15:11) as an individual
Did not qualify: None

Division 4 boys winner: Bishop Amat 90
Qualified: None
Did not qualify: None

Division 5 boys winner: Xavier Prep 65
Qualified: Ontario Christian’s Jakob Eichor 17th (16:11) as an individual
Did not qualify: 14. Ontario Christian 307, 16. Webb 373

Division 1 girls winner: Great Oak 20
Qualified: None
Did not qualify: 16. Rancho Cucamonga 364
Chino Hills’ Grace Staton 18th (18:20) as an individual

Division 2 girls winner: Saugus 81
Qualified: 7. Claremont 175 (top runner: 23. Tess Rounds 18:12)
Did not qualify: 16. Ayala 361
Summit’s Jennifer Sandoval 31st (18:24) as an individual

Division 3 girls winner: Palos Verdes 80
Qualified: None
Did not qualify: 15. Bonita 320

Division 4 girls winner: Bishop Amat 63
Qualified: San Dimas’ Trinity Ruelas 6th (18:25) as an individual
Did not qualify: 12. St. Lucy’s 268.

Division 5 girls winner: Flintridge Prep 36
Qualified: Pomona Catholic’s Kassandra Martinez 13th (19:40) as an individual
Did not qualify: 11. Pomona Catholic 267.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Baseline principals address All-League football debacle

"for sale"

Has the ever been a worse debacle than what took place when Baseline League football coaches met to pick their All-League team? Probably not.

For those that haven’t been briefed, Upland won the league without losing to any of the other five schools.

When the coaches met, the first vote was for offensive player of the year. Two players were put up by their coaches – one from Chino Hills, one from Upland. The Chino Hills player won by a 4-2 vote.

That prompted Upland coach Tim Salter to get up and leave the meeting, putting the fate of the rest of his players in the hands of the other coaches.

Well the other coaches were worried more about lobbying for their own players. And with no one representing Upland in attendance none of those players were placed on the first or second team.

Once word got out, chaos ensued. Upland principal Garry Cameron and Athletic Director John McNally sent a letter to the principals asking them to address the situation.

They did. The compromise they came up with was to let Upland choose 21 players, 11 they can place on offense with up to 6 placed on first team. They get 10 selections on defense but the selection of players of the year would not be changed and no player previously chosen would be removed.

It helps give recognition to the players who were deserving but were first slighted. But EVERYONE looks bad.

Salter is most to blame because he got up and left. You don’t take your ball and go home because you don’t get your way. In fact coaches from another sport met just before and the player of the year didn’t come from the team that finished first. That coach didn’t pitch a fit and leave.

The other coaches don’t look good either. They may have personal differences with Salter and Upland. But you can’t tell me they couldn’t have taken a couple of the obvious choices and put them on the All-League team. In that situation Upland doesn’t get all the selections it probably deserve but some representation and there wouldn’t have been a total uproar.

Upland Unified School District Superintendent Nancy Kelly released a statement which addressed the compromise but part read: “Reconsidering players for All-League teams, but not Player of the Year awards, doesn’t make sense.”

Yes Mrs. Kelly it does. Your school got 21 selections, so pretty much every starter. And you want consideration for the top awards too? That would absolve Salter of any wrongdoing and he facilitated it.

The league looks bad for the whole debacle. And with now 50 or so players on the All-League team it waters down what should be an honor.

When we select our All-Area teams we’re careful not to overload it with players. The more you pick, the less of an honor it really is.

Was Salter upset because he never gets a Player of the Year? Not likely. He had a player given that top honor last year.

Lets hope everyone has learned from this bad episode and history doesn’t repeat itself.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email