Playoff realignment divisions

A quick cheat sheet of what it will look like the next two years.

Football playoff divisions for 2010 and 2011

CENTRAL DIVISION (one at-large)
Mt. Baldy (4 teams)
San Andreas (4 teams)
Desert Valley (3 teams)
Inland Valley (4 teams)

EASTERN DIVISION (one at-large)
Desert Sky (3 teams)
Mojave River (3 teams)
Sunkist (3 teams)
Mountain Pass (3 teams)
Sunbelt (3 teams)

EAST VALLEY DIVISION (four at-large)
Ambassador (2 teams)
De Anza (2 teams)
Mountain Valley (2 teams)
Academy (2 teams)
Alpha (2 teams)
Frontier (2 teams)

INLAND DIVISION (zero at-large)
Baseline (3 teams)
Citrus Belt (3 teams)
Sierra (3 teams)
Big 8 (4 teams)
Southwestern (3 teams)

Baseline, Sierra head back to Inland Division

The playoff alignments for various sports, including football, for the 2010-2012 seasons were released by the CIF-SS offices Monday, with some interesting changes in football.

The Baseline and Sierra Leagues, which were in the Central Division the last two years, will swap back into the Inland Division to play against the Citrus Belt League, the Big 8 and the Southwestern Leagues. The Inland Valley League will swap out, moving back to the Central Division with the expanded San Andreas and Mt. Baldy Leagues and the Desert Valley League, which moves up from the Eastern Division. The Sunbelt League switches places with the Desert Valley, moving into the Eastern Division.

These changes will make life tough on the Baseline League, which ripped up the Central Division in both seasons in it. Three of the four semifinalists during the last two years were Baseline teams, with the Central Division title game being an all-Baseline affair (Rancho Cucamonga over Upland in 2008 and Upland over Los Osos in 2009) both seasons.

Another change that will impact the Baseline is the zero at-large entries in the Inland Division. Considering that the Central champion this past year, Upland, was an at-large entry from the Baseline, a brutal league will become even more cutthroat.
Continue reading

SB County has 3 of top 4 seets in D6 Dual meet wrestling

Although the brackets don’t come out until Thursday, I believe, the seeding has been done for the Division 6 dual meet wrestling, taking place at Baldwin Park Sierra Vista High School on Saturday.

Although defending champion Morro Bay is seeded No. 1, the next three teams are all from San Bernardino County: Oak Hills, Bloomington and Kaiser in that order. That means there’s a decent chance a county team will make it to the finals. Only the 9 league champions are guaranteed spots in the 16-team bracket in D6, so with Kaiser seeded fourth, the Cats will take one of those 7 at-large spots, and another will go to Santa Ynez, runner-up in the Los Padres League behind Sierra Vista and seeded fifth for Saturday.

Sunkist League playoff breakdown

After almost having my brain explode while typing the Sierra League breakdown, I can chill a bit on this one, as tonight’s game between Patriot and Summit is the only one that matters.

1. Kaiser (6-3, 4-0): Clinched the No. 1 seed out of the league no matter how it does tomorrow by virtue of its head-to-head tiebreaker advantage over Norte Vista.

2. Norte Vista (8-1, 3-1): Clinched the No. 2 seed out of the league no matter how it does tomorrow, as it loses the tiebreaker to Kaiser and owns the tiebreaker over both Patriot and Summit.

3. Summit (4-5, 2-2): Clinches the No. 3 playoff spot with a win tonight over Patriot. Eliminated with a loss.

4. Patriot (4-5, 2-2): Clinches the No. 3 playoff spot with a win tonight over Summit. Eliminated with a loss.

5. Bloomington (3-6, 1-3): Eliminated from playoff consideration.

6. Jurupa Valley (0-9, 0-4): Eliminated from playoff consideration.