Baseline League honors: Boys Water Polo

VIDEO: Damien’s Matt Maier talks about what he likes about water polo

MVP – Matt Maier, Sr., Damien

First team
Luke Andres, Sr., Los Osos
Blake Brutocao, Jr., Damien
Nicholas Ealy, Sr., Etiwanda
Joseph Galgani, Jr., Los Osos
Kyle Kunishima, Jr., Chino Hills
Nick Perez, Sr., Upland
Hunter Schoeller, Jr., Rancho Cucamonga
Tanner Stewart, Sr., Los Osos
Jasen Swan, Jr., Damien
Chase Travisano, Jr., Damien
Connor Winkler, Jr., Chino Hills

Second team
Eddy Berry, Soph., Upland
J.T. Case, Sr., Rancho Cucamonga
Griffin Goodwin, Jr., Chino Hills
Michael Hedger, Jr., Etiwanda
Eric Kawecki, Sr., Los Osos
Dillon Mannion, Soph., Los Osos
Chase Pearson, Sr., Upland
Neil Reynolds, Jr., Los Osos
Austin Schoeller, Fr., Rancho Cucamonga
Josh Shockey, Jr., Chino Hills
Sam Wallman, Sr., Damien

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

ROUNDUP: Luke Andres, Los Osos water polo advance to CIF second round

Boys Water Polo
LOS OSOS 14, VILLA PARK 11 >> Luke Andres had four goals for the Grizzlies in the CIFSS Division 2 first round victory over the Spartans. Joseph Galgani contributed with three goals while goalkeeper Tanner Stewart had 11 saves in the win. Los Osos will play against Dana Hills on Saturday.
LOMA LINDA ACADEMY 3, MONTEBELLO 0 >> Demari Webb had 18 kills for the Roadrunners in the CIFSS first round victory over the Oilers, 25-9, 25-17, 25-18. Kayla Redfield contributed with 35 assists and three digs in the victory. Loma Linda Academy will play the winner of Connelly and Santa Ynez in the quarterfinals.
TEMPLETON 3, WEBB 0 >> The Gauls were defeated by the Eagles, 25-17, 25-13, 25-16, in the second round of the CIF-SS playoffs.
Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Local water polo standouts earn All-American honors

The National Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association (NISCA) has announced its list of water polo high school All Americans for the 2014-2015 season.

The organization picked 14 players for each of six teams nationwide.

Several locals earned recognition.

The top honoree was junior Matthew Maier of Damien who named to the second team.

Senior Austin Stewart of Los Osos made the fourth team while senior goal keeper Steven Cagle of Claremont, who led the Wolfpack to a CIF championship, made the sixth team.

Senior Thomas Halverson of Los Osos made honorable mention.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Baseline League honors: Boys water polo


Most Valuable Player – Austin Stewart, Sr., Los Osos

First team
Joseph Galgani, Soph., Los Osos
Tommy Halvorson, Sr., Los Osos
Sam Leblane, Sr., Chino Hills
Matt Maier, Jr., Damien
Nick Perez, Jr., Upland
Hunter Schoeller, Soph., Rancho Cucamonga
Brett Rehrer, Sr., Chino Hills
Chase Travisano, Soph., Damien
Ty Williams, Los Osos

Second team
Luke Andres, Jr., Los Osos
Eddy Berry, Fr., Upland
Noah Judson, Sr., Etiwanda
Josh Matthews, Sr., Chino Hills
Zach McMasters, Sr., Etiwanda
Conner Panse, Sr., Rancho Cucamonga
Max Rios, Sr., Damien
Jordan Scott, St., Los Osos
Tanner Stewart, Jr., Los Osos
Jasen Swan, Soph., Damien
Sam Wallman, Jr., Damien

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Top water polo players named

Embedded image permalink

All-CIF honors are out in boys water polo. Not surprisingly, Los Osos leads the way with four players honored.

Leading that quartet is senior Jared Strong who was named the Division 4 Player of the Year. He led the Grizzlies to a second straight CIF title.

Also making the list from Los Osos are senior Austin Stewart, senior Ben Andres and junior Thomas Halverson.

Also making the Division 4 team is Cole Carlson of Redlands East Valley.

In Division 5 Spencer Hosch of Webb was the lone local honored.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email