Battle of the Baseline baseball games coming up Saturday

Damien’s James Free II, Isaiah Paige and Daniel Benedict celebrate runs in the fourth inning against Upland at Upland Memorial Park in Upland, CA, Tuesday, April 19, 2016. (Photo by Jennifer Cappuccio Maher/Inland Valley Daily Bulletin)

The eighth annual Battle of the Baseline is coming up on Saturday at LoanMart Field, home of the Rancho Cucamonga Quakes.

The games this time around should be even more compelling given how tight the league standings are with just three games left.

It will be Upland (14-9, 6-6) vs. Los Osos (6-16, 2-10)  at 11 a.m., Damien (12-9, 9-3) vs. Chino Hills (12-8-1, 7-5) at 2 p.m. with Etiwanda (15-7, 6-6) vs. Rancho Cucamonga (13-10, 6-6)  following at 5 p.m.

The middle battle features the top two teams with Damien holding a two-game lead over Chino Hills, which has won six of its last seven games, one of those over Damien earlier this week.

Chino Hills and Etiwanda tied for first place last season.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Chino grad Tiffany Kennedy-Cummings lands JuCo honor

Tiffany Kennedy-Cummings had quite the senior season in 2015 at Chino High School. Well she picked up where she left off as a freshman this year at Mt. SAC.

Tiffany Kennedy-Cummings

Kennedy-Cummings has been named state Pitcher of the Year in helping the Mounties to another stellar showing.

Kennedy-Cummings went 13-2 with 2 saves and an 0.94 ERA. That ERA was the best in Southern California and second in the entire state. She managed 113 strikeouts in 127 innings.

Among the highlights of her season was a perfect game in the regular season finale against Orange Coast won by the Mounties 12-0 in five innings.

Also earning All-So Cal honors are Aimee Rodriguez and Jessica Olivera of Mt. SAC, Bonita High School grad Celine Spathias of Citrus and Jordan Emanuele and Redlands East Valley grad Danielle Lopez of Riverside.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Bonita High School to hold heart screenings for ALL athletes

Bonita High School will conduct a free heart screening program from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday.

Sudden cardiac arrest is the No. 1 killer of student athletes and the No. 2 killer of people under the age of 25.  Cardiologist and doctors associated with the UCLA Medical School and the Saving Hearts Foundation will be present to screen athletes between the ages of 12 – 25.

Participants do not have to be students at Bonita High School.

Attached you will find a flyer for the event.  Those interested in attending should preregister at

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Etiwanda’s Aidan Anderson chooses Canadian school

Middle linebacker Aidan Anderson of Etiwanda has signed with University of Regina in Saskatchewan, Canada.

It probably seems like a random school for an athlete from the Inland Empire to choose but there is a connection as the head coach of the team is Steve Bryce, who coached at Etiwanda for 10 years (the last in 2011) and still has ties here.

Anderson visited the school a couple of weeks ago and liked what he saw.

“It is a little far away and it’s cold but it was nice,” he said. “I’m excited about the opportunity. I can’t wait to go back when it’s a little greener. I was there at the end of winter and everything was still a little brown.”

There will also be a small adjustment as Canadian football is played on a bigger field and with 12 per side.

“That will definitely be a little different,” Anderson said. “But it will be fun.”

Anderson, one of the Eagles team captains, tallied 72 tackles, 3 sacks, 7 hurries, 2 forced fumbles and 1 recovery.

Anderson also competes in wrestling, earning second team All-Inland Valley honors. Regina also fields a wrestling team and Anderson hasn’t ruled out competing in that too but will see what time demands come with football first.

He plans to major in world history or a social science.

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Ganesha football to host 7-on-7 tournament

Ganesha Football

Ganesha High School will host a 7-on-7 tournament at Ganesha High School on June 18. There is room for 16 teams.

The event will start at 9 a.m. with pool play, then championship and consolation brackets in the afternoon. If there is a full field of 16 teams, each will have a minimum of five games.

The cost is $200 per team.

Those interested can contact coach Don Cayer at (951) 265-5112 or email him at

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Hacienda League honors: Girls basketball


Most Valuable Player: Stephanie Custodio, Sr., G, Chino

First team
Ebony Cooper, Diamond Ranch
Yasmin Dabbous, Walnut
Jez Espinzoa, Los Altos
Alyssa Gonzalez, Chino
Sarah Kretschmar, Diamond Ranch
Jenna Pitpit, Walnut
Nicole Valdiviez, West Covina
Ulani Wells, Los Altos

Second team
Andrea Bustillos, West Covina
Kaitlin Day, Walnut
Relene Finai, Charter Oak
Rebecca Navar, Chino
Brenda Reyes, Los Altos
Vanessa Ruiz, Chino
Kaylee Shozuya, Los Altos
Keely Wall, Charter Oak

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Hacienda League honors: Wrestling

First team
106 –
Alex Chow, Walnut
113 – Brian Mariscal, Walnut
120 – Daniel Estrada, Chino
126 – Adam Arebalo, Diamond Ranch
132 – Vincent Zavala, Charter Oak
138 – Andrew Franco-Guerrero, Walnut
145 – Gustavo Garcia, Charter Oak
152 – Marco Sanchez, Diamond Ranch
160 – Micah Maes, Walnut
170 – Daniel Hays, Charter Oak
182 – Spencer Hoh, Walnut
195 – Bartabas Yi, Walnut
220 – Johnny Portas, Los Altos

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Miramonte League honors: Wrestling

MVP Lower Weights: Marco Ortiz, Bassett
MVP Middle Weights: Eddie Cox, La Puente
MVP Upper Weights: Arturo Vasquez, Bassett

First team

108 – Tommy Soto, Pomona
115 – Alfred Lopez, Pomona
122 – Marco Ortiz, Bassett
128 – Christian Arellano, La Puente
134 – Zachary Kessler, La Puente
140 – Xavier Aguilar, Pomona
147 – Richard Chavez, Ganesha
155 – Edward Cox, La Puente
162 – William Aguilar, La Puente
172 – Edwin Martinez, Pomona
184 – Arturo Vasquez, Bassett
197 – Aaron Rivera, Edgewood
222 – Brandon Ulloa, Pomona
285 – Jaylon Dean <Ganesha

Second team
108 –
Lorenzo De Loera, La Puente
115 – Joel Izarraras, La Puente
122 – Andrew De Loera, La Puente
128 – Tony Alvarado, Bassett
134 – Damien Limon, Pomona
140 – Angel Monarrez, La Puente
147 – Alejandro Villegas, La Puente
154 – John Mosqueda, Ganesha
162 – Andrew Sanabria, Pomona
172 – Cesar Ramirez, La Puente
184 – Jose Reyes, La Puente
197 – Thali Cobb, Pomona
222 – Andrew Ramos, La Puente
285 – Oscar Ramirez, La Puente

Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Chino Hills’ Lonzo Ball, Ayala’s John Edgar honored with Wooden awards

Chino Hills High School’s Lonzo Ball, left, drives up the court as Bishop Montgomery High School’s Ethan Thompson defends during a CIF Open Division State Regional Final at Walter Pyramid on Saturday, March 19, 2016 in Long Beach, Ca. (Micah Escamilla/Inland Valley Daily Bulletin)

Seniors John Edgar of Ayala and Lonzo Ball of Chino Hills are among those honored with the 2016 John R. Wooden Awards.

Ball, who has led the Huskies to a 35-0 mark and No. 1 national ranking heading into tonight’s state title game, was given the honor for players in Division I while Edgar was the recipient for Division II.

Edgar helped the Bulldogs to a Southern Section title and runner-up state finish in Division III.

Other Southern Section award winners are De’Anthony Melton of Crespi (Division III); Shacquille Dawkins of Alemany (Division IV), Cody Riley of Sierra Canyon (Division V) and Cartrell Thompson, Price (Division VI).


Share this
Plusone Twitter Facebook Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email